15th Distinguished Alumni Awards-2017 to Hindu College Alumni to be held on 22nd April, 2017

New Delhi: The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of Hindu College, University of Delhi is going to organize the 15th Distinguished Alumni Awards-2017 on Saturday, 22nd April at the Hyatt Regency in the Capital. Shri Rao Inderjit Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Ministry of Planning and Minister of State for Urban Development and Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation, Government of India & Shri Ashok Lavasa, Finance Secretary, Government of India are to going to be Chief Guests at the felicitation ceremony.

The OSA Distinguished Alumni Awards annually recognizes Outstanding Achievers who have excelled in their respective fields and made a significant contribution to the society at large. The Old Students Association (since the Centenary Celebrations in 1999-2000) has been annually recognizing its distinguished alumni in a glittering celebration that grows every year by leaps and bounds. The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of Hindu College was established in 1958. Since its inception, the Association has been active in bringing the eminent alumni of the Hindu College, Delhi on one platform.

Commenting on the occasion, Shri Ravi Burman, Secretary, Old Students’ Association (OSA), Hindu College said, “We are glad to be back with the 15th edition of the Distinguished Alumni Awards, a humble endeavour to honour and recognize the alumni of the prestigious Hindu College, who have been doing exemplary contribution to their respective fields and making the alma mater proud.”

The 15th Distinguished Alumni Awards-2017 will honour following alumni of the Hindu College:

Distinguished Alumni Award

1. Justice Navin Sinha, Judge Supreme Court, Excellence in Law

2. K. K. Sharma, Director General, Border Security Force (BSF) Excellence in Police Service

3. Raghvendra Singh, Director General, National Archives of India, Ministry Of Culture, Excellence in Civil Service

4. Dr. Gyanendra Badgaiyan, Director General, National Centre for Good Governance, Excellence in Governance

5. Dr. Seetha Somasundaram, Program Director at The ISRO Space Science Program Office, Excellence in Science & Technology

6. Veena Jain, Director General, DD News, Excellence in Media

7. Deep Dasgupta, Indian Cricketer and Commentator, Excellence in Sports

8. Sanjay Singh, Chief Representative Director, Tata Sons, Excellence in Corporate Sector

9. Pankaj Saran, Ambassador of India to the Russian Federation, Excellence in Foreign Service

10. Krishan Varma, Former Special Secretary, Cabinet Secretariat, Excellence in National Security

11. Rakesh Kacker, IAS, Director, India Habitat Centre, Excellence in Civil & Public Service

12. Sunil Jain, Managing Editor of Financial Express, Excellence in Journalism


1. Mayanti Langer, TV Sports Journalist with Star TV, Excellence in Media

2. Jasleen Royal, Singer, Songwriter and Music Composer, Excellence in Music


1. Prem Prakash, Founder Chairman, The Asian News International (ANI), Excellence in Journalism
Some of prominent past awardees include Late K.K Birla, Late Prof. Bipin Chandra, Vinod Rai, Dr. Pervez Ali Ahmed, Dr. Naresh Trehan, Dr. Kapila Vatsyan, H. K. Dua, Manoj Kumar, Rao Inderjit Singh, Sreenivasan Jain, Imtiaz Ali,Vishal Bhardwaj, Rekha Bharadwaj, Arjun Rampal, Tisca Chopra, Loveleen Tandon, Saba Karim, Murali Kartik, Gautam Gambhir, Dr. Subramanyam Swami, Arnab Goswami, M.K.Venu, Anil Goswami, Yashovardhan Azad, Ashish Vidyarthi, Venkatesh Kini, Ashok Lavasa, Rajiv Jain, Neha Khanna et al.