17th Mumbai International Film Festival (MIFF2022) deadline extended; filmmakers can submit entries up to 20th March, 2022

The submissions deadline for 17th Mumbai International Film Festival (MIFF 2022) has been extended till 20th March 2022. Filmmakers can now submit their entry in Documentary, Short Fiction and Animation category of films up to 20th March 2022. 17th MIFF will be held from 29 May to 4 June, 2022 at the Films Division complex, Mumbai. For more details, film makers can log on to www.miff.in or to https://filmfreeway.com/MumbaiInternationalFilmFestival-MIFF for entering films in different competition categories.

Films completed between 1st September -2019 and 31st December -2021, are eligible for entry in MIFF-2022. The Best Documentary of the Festival will receive a Golden Conch and Rs.10 lakhs cash award. The winning films in different categories will receive handsome cash awards, Silver Conches, Trophies and Certificates. As India is celebrating “Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav”, the current edition has instituted a special award for Best Short Film on the theme, India@75.  The festival will also honour a veteran personality from the Indian non-feature film fraternity with the prestigious V Shantaram Lifetime Achievement Award carrying a cash component of Rs.10 lakhs, a trophy and citation.

The oldest and largest festival for non-feature films in South Asia, MIFF, organized by Films Division, Ministry of Information & Broadcasting and supported by Government of Maharashtra, attracts film makers from all over the world. Apart from competition and non-competition sections, interactive sessions like workshops, master classes, open forum and B2B sessions are some of the major highlights of the festival.

The response to the 16th edition of biennial MIFF held in 2020 was overwhelming, signifying a vibrant documentary culture in India and the world. The 16th MIFF received a record 871 entries from India and abroad and was attended by a number of prominent documentary, animation and short film makers from India and other parts of the world. The grand jury comprised of eminent film personalities from France, Japan, Singapore, Canada, Bulgaria and India.

Comments are closed.