2020 Friedrich Wilhelm Awards

New Delhi: This year, RWTH Aachen University honored 31 students and doctoral candidates with the 2020 Friedrich Wilhelm Award for their outstanding achievements. Twelve Master’s theses and thirteen doctoral theses were recognized. Unfortunately, the award ceremony had to be cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

This year’s honorees were: Leonard Bruns M. Sc., Christian Johannes Eckardt M. Sc., Linda Engelmann M. A., Malte Jan Michael Gurgel M. Sc., Laura Marie Helleckes M. Sc., Tim Hilbrecht M. Sc., Sarah Denise Hilker M. Sc., Johannes Franz Hüllenkremer M. Sc., Julia Janowitz M. Sc., Stefanie Koß M. Sc., Anna-Maria Franziska Kuttenreich M. Sc., Jonas Nießen M. Sc., Gesa Pauli M. Sc., Christoph Paul Rieger M. Sc., Oliver Schulz M. Sc., Tim van der Velden M. Sc., Dr.-lng. Markus Adams, Dr. med. Luisa Susan Averdunk, Dr.-Ing. Saeed Sharif Azadeh, Dr. rer. nat. Anna Katharina Beine, Dr. rer. nat Piero Bellanova, Dr.-Ing. Tobias Braun, Dr.-Ing. Robert Brüll, Dr. phil. Anna Magdalena Claus, Dr. rer. pol. Sebastian Nikolas Goderbauer, Dr. rer. medic. Carina Hage, Dr.-Ing. Julian Kochmann, Dr.-Ing. Klas-Moritz Kossel, Dr. rer. medic. Julia Möllmann, Dr. rer. nat. Daniel Neuen, and Dr. phil. Anna Maria Stertz.

Support for Teaching and Research

The Friedrich Wilhem Award is awarded by the foundation of the same name, which was founded in 1865 by the predecessor of the current Generali Deutschland AG. Its central purpose is to promote research and teaching at RWTH Aachen and to support students and scientists. The name of the foundation refers to the Prussian crown prince and later Emperor Friedrich Wilhelm III. In 1858 he received a donation of 5000 thalers from the Aachener und Münchener Feuerversicherungsgesellschaft, in order to start a polytechnical institute in the Rhein province. This donation formed the foundation for the later established Friedrich Wilhelm Foundation, which then created the basis for RWTH Aachen University.