54 Students and Graduates Receive Public Interest Fellowships

In May, Yale Law School announced that 54 of its graduating students and recent alumni were awarded public interest postgraduate fellowships for 2021–2022 and 2021–2023.

Of this number, 42 fellowships were awarded directly by the Law School, while 12 were awarded by external fellowship programs.

These fellowships offered by the Law School and some outside organizations provide support for one or two years of work in the public interest, jump-starting the careers of YLS graduates while serving the legal needs of underserved members of society.

Forty-one of the fellows have received fellowships through programs that include the Arthur Liman Public Interest Fellowship, the Gruber Fellowship in Global Justice and Women’s Rights, the Heyman Federal Public Service Fellowship, the David Nierenberg ’78 International Refugee Assistance Project Fellowship, the Robert L. Bernstein Fellowship in International Human Rights, the Robina Foundation Human Rights Fellowship, the YLS Permanent Court of Arbitration Fellowship, the YLS Public Interest Fellowship, and the Yale Law Journal Fellowship.

Twelve fellows will pursue public interest work through fellowship programs funded by outside organizations, including one who received an Animal Welfare Legal Fellowship – Richman Law Group, three Equal Justice Works Fellowships, one Hueston Hennigan Social Justice Fellowship, five Justice Catalyst Fellowships, one NYU Tax Law Center Tax Law and Policy Fellowship, and one Skadden Fellowship.

This year’s recipients will be working for the Office of the Vice President of the United States, Rights Behind Bars, the ACLU of Illinois, the Electronic Privacy Information Center, Minority Rights Group International, the Organization of Ibero-American States, Human Rights Watch, and The Bronx Defenders, among many other organizations.

Fellowship recipients will undertake work serving communities throughout the country, in states like Maine, Louisiana, Michigan, Texas, Colorado, and California, and, internationally, in Switzerland, the Netherlands, Italy, England, Colombia, and Mexico.

See the full list of this year’s fellowship recipients.