58th Foundation day of Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology celebrated

Bhubaneswar: The 58th Foundation day of Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology, has been celebrated today at M.S. Swaminathan Conference Hall of the University.

Attending the function as Chief Guest, Dr. Arun Kumar Sahoo, Hon’ble, Minister of Agriculture & Farmers’ Empowerment, Fisheries & Animal Resources Development, Higher Education, Govt. of Odisha stressed upon taking a more concentrated effort by OUAT in development of technologies to address the emerging challenges in the field of agriculture. He suggested considering factors like climate change, marketing, post-harvest & processing, farm mechanisation and problems emerging because of the incidence of new pest and diseases; while developing technologies for the farmers. He opined the development of agricultural sector can only lead to the development of other industrial and service sectors in the country. We need to focus more on remunerative horticultural crops instead of paddy alone, he said.

Dr. Saurav Garg, Principal Secretary, Dept. of Agriculture & Farmers’ Empowerment, Govt. of Odisha during his address as Guest of Honour stressed upon the use of high-tech technologies for enhancing farmers’ income. While developing technologies focus most be given on profitability as a parameter rather than production and productivity, he opined.

Attending the function as Guest of Honour Dr. Swapan Kumar Datta, Former DDG (Crop Science), ICAR and Former Vice-Chancellor, Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan delivered the Foundation Day lecture on “Agricultural science and policy from farmers’ perspective”. During his address, he explained the need for technology development keeping in view the soil health and environment protection issues.

Dr. Pawan Kumar Agrawal, Vice-Chancellor of OUAT presiding over the Foundation Day function highlighted the achievements of this University during last year. He also explained the innovative steps the University is taking to strengthen its education, research and extension activities.

During this function, three agri-entrepreneurs, three achiever farmers and farm women of the state, best women scientist, best extension scientist, best KVK and best graduates of the University were felicitated. Various publications such as Chasira Sansar, Crop varieties developed by OUAT, Journal of Research and a series of booklets were released during the occasion.

At the outset of the function, Prof K.K. Rout, Dean, College of Agriculture, Bhubaneswar welcomed the guests. Smt. Sushama Rani Devi, Registrar of the University proposed the vote of thanks at the end.

Former Vice-Chancellors, Members of Board of Management, Deans & Directors, teachers, scientists, students of the University; Scientist from Regional Research and Technology Transfer Stations, Commodity Research Stations and Krishi Vigyan Kendras; farmers, farm women from different parts of the state; officials of line Departments; and Directors of ICAR institutes operating in Odisha participated in this function.