Aligarh Muslim University Dept of Law Moot Court Competition concludes

Aligarh: Students team from the Amity Institute of Law, Mohali with Zarish Ali and M Magotra as speakers and Simran Sidana as the researcher emerged winners at the Sir Syed and Surana & Surana National Criminal Law Moot Court Competition 2019 that concluded at Department of Law, Aligarh Muslim University (AMU).

They faced runner-up, University School of Law and Legal Studies, Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, New Delhi team with Aditi Singh and Hema as speakers and Anjali Gandhi as the researcher in the final round.

Thanking the guests for attending the competition, AMU Vice Chancellor, Professor Tariq Mansoor said that this is one of the best National Moot Court competitions in India.

Urging the law students to keep working hard, Prof Mansoor said that there is no short cut to success and legal profession is a very important and noble profession. “Ethics and values with rules of conduct and laws regulate the legal profession and are important guide to ensure right and proper conduct in the daily practise of the law,” further said that Vice Chancellor.

He congratulated the winners and all the 32 participating teams.

The Chief Guest, Hon’ble Justice Mr Manoj Kumar Gupta (Judge, High Court of Judicature at Allahabad) said that a lawyer should strive to attain the highest level of skills, to improve the law and the legal profession, and to exemplify the legal profession’s ideals of public service.

The Guest of Honour, Hon’ble Justice Mr Suneet Kumar (Judge, High Court of Judicature at Allahabad) urged law students to become the best researchers, communicators, articulator of facts and law and to be patient and receptive.

Hon’ble Justice Mr Attau Rahman Masoodi (Judge, High Court of Judicature at Allahabad), who also attended the programme as a Guest of Honour appreciated the problem that was drafted for the moot court competition and advised students to be cautious while having arguments and to be prepared to control any situation.

Prof Javaid Talib (Chairman, Department of Law) delivered the welcome address, while Prof Mohammad Tariq (In-Charge, Law Society) presented the report of the competition.

Dr S Ravichandran (Advocate and Head, Academic Initiatives, Surana & Surana International Attorneys) distributed prizes to the winners.

Prof Zaheeruddin (Dean, Faculty of Law) proposed the vote of thanks.

Mr Faham A Khan (Secretary, Law Society) and Mr Sahbaj Akhtar (Secretary, Moot Society, Law Society) also spoke on the occasion.