Amity University adopts onsite Solar of 1.8 MW capacity in partnership with CleanMax Solar


Noida: Amity University, one of the top private universities in the country which enjoys a strong tradition of excellence in innovation, has adopted onsite solar power in association with CleanMax Solar, India’s most trusted sustainability partner for the corporate segment for three of their institutes across India. CleanMax solar has installed on-site solar plants in their Jaipur, Manesar and Gwalior campuses with a cumulative capacity of 1.8 MWp. Based on the ‘pay as you go’ or commonly known as ‘OPEX’ model, CleanMax Solar has provided solar power to Amity University at a tariff, cheaper than the grid electricity tariff, thereby ensuring cumulative savings of over INR 1 crore per annum.

This initiative comprises of installation in three of Amity University campuses which are based in Jaipur (Rajasthan), Manesar (Haryana) and Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh). The solar plants are expected to generate over 27,62,388 kWh units per annum of electricity cumulatively, thereby abating 2265 tons of carbon dioxide annually for next 25 years. The Amity University Jaipur campus will meet almost 50% of its electricity requirement from solar.

Sharing his thoughts on the recent association, Mr. Gajanan Nabar, CEO, CleanMax Solar, said, “We are pleased to be associated with a respected institution like Amity University in achieving its sustainability target with significant cost saving on their electricity bills. The total solar installations across the three Amity Universities campuses is 1.8 MW capacity, thereby abating 2265 tons of CO2 and which means it has the potential take almost 480 passenger vehicles off road per year. Educational institutes going solar and reducing their reliance on fossil fuel based power is a major step towards the building a sustainable vision and a greener tomorrow.”

CleanMax Solar has successfully installed rooftop solar plants across more than 30 educational and research institutes in country which include IIT (BHU), Manipal Education and Medical Group, National Institute of Technology Karnataka (NITK), Pune University, Aligarh Muslim University, Xavier School of Management (XLRI), among others.