AMU announces the result of All India Essay Writing Competition


ALIGARH : Raza Haider Zaidi, a student of BALLB, Aligarh Muslim University has won the first prize in the All India Essay Writing Competition, organized by the Public Relations Office, Aligarh Muslim University, marking the 204th birth anniversary of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, one of the great social reformers. He won a cash prize of Rs 25,000/- under the award.

The second prize went to Rajib Sheikh (BA, Darul Huda Islamic University, WB Campus, Birbhum, WB) who won the a cash prize of Rs 15,000/-, while Abraham Hadi (MA, Aligarh Muslim University) secured the third place in the national level contest, winning a cash prize of Rs 10,000/-.

Essays were invited from university and college students from all over India in English on the topic, ”Sir Syed as a protagonist of interfaith dialogue”.

Eight other participants representing different states have been given the state topper prizes with prize money of Rs 5,000 each, while two participants each from two states have jointly been given the state topper prizes with shared prize money. The state toppers include Mohd Yasir Jamal Kidwai (B.Sc., Aligarh Muslim University, UP), Anirban Nanda (Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, Maharashtra), Srinjay Roop Sarbadhikary (B.Sc., Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology, Simhat, Nadia, West Bengal), Maryam Maqsood (Ph.D., Sri Venkateshwara Colloge of Pharmacy, Hitech City Road, Hyderabad, Telangana), Vanshika Behnal (Sher-e- Kashmir University Of Agricultural Sciences and Technology, Jammu & Kashmir), Shadab Alam (BUMS, A & U Tibbia College, Karol Bagh, New Delhi).

Diya Amna (BA, PSMO College, Tirurangadi, Malappuram, Kerala) and Mohammed Ashir (BA, Jamia Madeena, Thunnoor Markaz Garden, Kerala) have shared the prize from Kerala while Chennasamudram Chenna Kesavulu and Mydukuru Pooja (D Pharma students from Annamacharya College of Pharmacy, Rajampet, Kadapa, AP) shared the prize from Andhra Pradesh.

The top three winners will be felicitated by the chief guest on October 17 during the online Sir Syed Day Commemorative Meeting, while the prize money will be sent to the winners through bank transfer and certificates by post at their respective addresses.