AMU celebrates Indian Hockey victory


Aligarh : Just as the hooter sounded, signalling the full-time of the edge-of-the-seat, men’s hockey play-off in Tokyo in which the Indian team rewrote history by claiming a Hockey Olympic medal after 41 years, defeating Germany 5-4 to win the bronze; AMU student-athletes, coaches and the university community in large erupted in celebration.

“This is a big moment. Our hockey team will finally return with an Olympic medal after a drought of 41 years. The victory has enormous significance; it will go a long way in inspiring the young athletes at AMU and all over the Country. All of us are in a celebration mood,” said AMU Vice Chancellor, Prof Tariq Mansoor.

AMU Hockey Coach, Anis ur Rehman said, “It is a landmark day, after going down 3-1, Indian team fought back brilliantly to win the bronze medal match 5-4”.

Immediately following the victory, students and University Games Committee members marched towards the Hockey and Athletics grounds in celebration. Sweets were distributed at the Public Relations Office by AMU PRO, Omar S Peerzada.

AMU has a list of illustrious alumni, who have played for the National Hockey team in Olympics, the World Cup and other International tournaments. The list includes, Arjuna Awardee, Zafar Iqbal (Olympian-Moscow 1980, Captain Indian Team-Los Angeles 1984, Captain Indian Team—Asian Games 1982, National Hockey Coach 1993-94); Arjuna Awardee, Govinda (Olympian—Munich 1972, Montreal 1976); Maj. Shakoor (Olympian-London 1948); Masood Minhaz (Olympian-Los Angeles 1932); Jogender Singh (Olympian—Rome I960, Tokyo 1964); Inamur Rehman (Olympian—Mexico 1968); Feeroz Khan (Olympian Amsterdam-1928); Ehsan Mohammad Khan (1936 Gold Medalist); Dorai Swami (Olympian-Malaysia); Aslam Sher Khan (Olympian Munich 1972, Montreal 1976); Asad AH Qidwai (Olympian); Anwar Ahmad (Olympian); Ali Saeed (Olympian Tokyo Japan 1964); Akhter Husain Hayat (Olympian London 1948) and Abdul Qayyoom (Olympian London 1948).


Comments are closed.