AMU defeats DU to lift North Zone Intervarsity Cricket Trophy

Aligarh: Aligarh Muslim University defeated Delhi University in the final of the North Zone Intervarsity Cricket tournament. The final match which was won by AMU by 52 runs was played at Willingdon Pavillion, AMU on Wednesday.

DU won the toss and elected to field. For AMU, Hannan Rizwan led the home team to victory by his scintillating knock of 120 runs off 90 balls, with a formidable support of Hammad Ifrat who contributed 88 runs.

In the morning, after losing Pratham, the semi final centurion on the first ball of the second over, AMU batsman Hannan and Hammad consolidated the inning with a strong partnership. Hannan with a neat cover drive for four completed his century which included two towering sixes and fourteen fours. Hannan is the second batsman in the tournament to score century while Pratham of AMU who scored century in the semi final failed to repeat his performance in the finals.

Hammad, who gave good support to Hannan, scored 88 runs which included one six and eight four. AMU scored 250 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in stipulated 35 over. Yuvraj was the most successful bowler for DU, taking one wicket for 22 runs.

Chasing the big total DU failed to gain momentum with the loss of two early wickets. However, Dhruv and Shivam who played some gutsy shots to score 67 and 44 runs respectively. However they did not get much support from remaining batsman and DU team was all out for 198 runs in 33.4 over. Mujeeb of AMU got four wickets conceding only 38 runs in his 7 over quota.

In the prize distribution ceremony it was all AMU show, as best batsman award was jointly shared by AMU batsman Hammad and Hannan, player of tournament was also jointly shared by Pratham and Aman (AMU), best bowler award went to Adil Alvi (AMU).

The Chief Guest on the occasion was former MP Mr Rajeev Shukla, (Secretary UP Cricket Association, former Chairman IPL) and the Vice Chancellor Prof Tariq Mansoor jointly gave the winner trophy to AMU. Prof. Mansoor stated that it is a proud moment for AMU fraternity. Prof Akhtar Haseeb (PVC, AMU) also congratulated the team, Secretary of the Games Committee Prof S Amjad Ali Rizvi paid vote of thanks. Coach Dr Faisal Sherwani, Superintendent of Police Mr Abhishek Jha (IPS), University officials, Presidents of various sporting clubs, coaches and members of various university clubs and teams along with other dignitaries were present on the occasion.