AMU VC inaugurates Oral Oncology Unit

Aligarh: To mark the Silver Jubilee of Dr Ziauddin Ahmad Dental College (AMU), the Oral Oncology Unit has been established in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and was inaugurated by the Vice Chancellor, Prof Tariq Mansoor.

The Vice Chancellor also released the first issue of the University Journal of Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Sciences on the occasion.


Prof Mansoor appreciated the establishment of the oral oncology unit and highlighted the need of involvement of an interdisciplinary surgical team for best outcome of the oral cancer treatment. He assured his full cooperation for further development of the Dental College and praised the team of University Journal of Maxillofacial Surgery for publishing the good quality papers in the first issue.


On the occasion Prof Shahid A Siddiqui (Dean, Principal and CMS, JN Medical College), appreciated the establishment of Oral Oncology Unit and highlighted the incidence of oral cancer. He mentioned that the facilities of treating oral cancer with resection and rehabilitation are available at a few centres and it is very expensive too. There is a need to reduce the treatment cost to improve the affordability of treatment to the common man, he added.


At the inaugural function Prof SS Ahmed ( Chairman Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery), said that the purpose of the oral cancer unit is to prevent, intercept the oral cancers and extension of facilities to oral cancer patients by early diagnosis, treatment, and post operative care and rehabilitation.


Prof RK Tewari (Principal ZADC) , informed that on the occasion of Silver Jubilee Year of the establishment of dental college, many webinars have been organized which have benefited dental professionals. He acknowledged the support given by the Vice Chancellor for the development of Dental College.


Prof GS Hashmi offered a vote of thanks. The program was attended by Chairpersons of departments of studies of Dr ZA Dental College. Prof ND Gupta, Prof Afshan Bey, Dr Shadab Rizvi, Dr MK Jindal, Dr Kalim Ansari and Dr Tabishur Rahman were also present.


Dr Mohammad Danish, Assistant professor anchored the program.


Comments are closed.