Annual Art Exhibition Inaugurated


Aligarh : The second addition of the Annual Art Exhibition-2022 of Department of Fine Arts was inaugurated today by Dr Hameeda Tariq, a renowned paediatrician and Prof Tariq Mansoor, the Vice Chancellor of AMU at Moinuddin Ahmad Art Gallery of the University. More than 150 art works of BFA and MFA students and research scholars are showcased in this exhibition. The six day exhibition will close on 18th September. A catalogue of the exhibition was released on the occasion containing the art works of the exhibitors.


Prof Tariq Mansoor appreciated the paintings on display and said; it reflects the creative instincts and the visions of young minds that see the world through their own perspective. An artist has the power to make invisible to viewable through his creativity and the enthusiasm of these budding artists can be witnessed in the quality and volume of the exhibition.


Dr Hamida Tariq said it is heartening to see enormous talent present in the campus bringing out the truth and using the language of colour and brush to tell untold stories. Each painting on display is telling a story of life and each work of art is unique in style and representation.


Guest of Honour on the occasion, Prof S Imtiaz Hasnain, Dean Faculty of Arts appreciated the exhibition as a catalyst of art and ideas to the public; they represent a way of displaying and contextualizing art that makes it relevant and accessible to contemporary audiences. The annual art exhibition was initiated in virtual mode in 2020 due to COVID-19 pandemic, he added.


The Chairperson, department of Fine Arts and Coordinator, Moinuddin Ahmad Art Gallery, Prof Badar Jahan said the fine arts is a subject which offers opportunities in both academic and professional fields and such art exhibitions are organised to build up confidence in the students . She added that on its concluding day the best painting award will be given to four selected art works.


The occasion was graced by a large number of dignitaries, chairpersons, directors, former deans and faculty members.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.