ANU: Unis around globe condemn Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

The Australian National University (ANU) is one of 22 universities from eight countries issuing a statement condemning Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and calling for institutions of higher learning to mobilise in support of victims and others in need.

“The presidents of the U7+ Alliance member universities stand in solidarity with Ukraine, the Ukrainian people, and Ukrainian universities, and with all those who are affected by the heinous violence currently perpetrated by the Russian government,” the statement read.

The signing institutions are part of the U7+ Alliance, an international coalition of university presidents aimed at advancing the role of universities as global actors.

The leaders of those universities also said in the statement that they reaffirm their commitment to the safety and wellbeing of Russian students, faculty and staff on campuses, while commending the bravery of those inside Russia who chose to speak out against the invasion.

In addition to ANU, the institutions that have signed the statement are: McGill University, Université d’Ottawa, University of British Columbia, University of Toronto, Aix-Marseille Université, Université Côte d-Azur, Université Grenoble Alpes, Université Paris Saclay, Freie Universitat Berlin, University of Mannheim, Hitotsubashi University, Keio University, Osaka University, The University of Tokyo, University of Cape Town, University of Cambridge, Georgetown University, Northwestern University, Sciences Po, l’Université de Montréal and Université de Bordeaux.

Comments are closed.