Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav: First DM open Badminton roller cup for women & men doubles concludes in Rajouri


RAJOURI : First District Magistrate open Badminton roller cup for women and men doubles concluded today in Rajouri.

The closing ceremony was presided over by Deputy Commissioner Rajouri, Vikas Kundal.

District Youth Services and Sports Officer, Sunil Sambyal and officials of the district Youth Services & Sports Department were also present at the event.

The tournament was organised as a part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav by the Youth Services and Sports department witnessing participation of 21 teams from across the district. The tournament started on 15th July and culminated today.

The final match was played between the pair /team of Yudhvir Sharma and Ashwani Sharma versus Arun Sharma and Danish Gupta in Doubles men. The pair comprising Arun Sharma and Danish Gupta emerged as winners. The women’s final was won by the pair comprising Tehmina Malik and Nahiema Kouser by defeating Samreen Asgar and Nittu Sharma.

Interacting with the players, the Deputy Commissioner highlighted several initiatives of the government launched to promote and boost sports activities and infrastructure in Jammu and Kashmir UT.

He also emphasized upon the youth services and sports department to organize more such sports events on a regular basis to channelize the energy of youth in the right direction and keep them away from evils like drug abuse.

He also said that youths are the future of our country and should participate in nation building activities and not fall prey to drug abuse.

The DC also extended best wishes to the players for achieving new heights of success and urged upon them to keep playing with the same zeal.