Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav observations

Aligarh: Prof A H Khan and his team won the intra-departmental badminton tournament, while teams led by Prof I Ahmad and Prof M Yaseen won the Table Tennis and Carrom tournaments respectively in the series of events organised by the Department of Plastic Surgery, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College (JNMC), Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) to commemorate the ‘Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav’, 75 years of Indian independence.

Dr M F Khurram was adjudged the best player.

Afore the sports events, Prof Imran Ahmad (Chairman, Department of Plastic Surgery) spoke about the sacrifices made by great freedom fighters and how people from all walks of life from the length and breadth of the country took part in the freedom movement.

“This Mahotsav is dedicated to the people who have been instrumental in bringing India this far in its evolutionary journey and Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s vision of activating the spirit of Atma-Nirbhar (Self Dependent) Bharat,” he added.

A two-minute silence was observed to pay homage to great men and women, who lost their lives during the freedom struggle.

Meanwhile, a fresher’s party was also held for the newly admitted M.Ch. residents. Dr Y R Kishore and Dr K Pavan Venkateswar from Andhra Pradesh and Dr Om Prakash and Dr Indrajith K Sudhy from Kerala have joined the department this year as residents.

Dr S Sarfraz Ali led the organising team of the programme.

Various departments of JNMC and AMU are observing the nation-wide ‘Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav’ with the AMU centenary year celebrations.


Comments are closed.