BHU Scientist named for prestigious Decennial Award by Indian Geophysical Union



Varanasi : Prof N.V.Chalapathi Rao, Department of Geology, Institute of Science, Banaras Hindu University, has been selected for the prestigious Decennial Award for the year 2022 by the Indian Geophysical Union, for significant contributions in establishing a school of deep mantle Petrology and outstanding contributions in understanding evolution of Indian sub-continental lithospheric Mantle vis-à-vis studies on the kimberlites, lamproites, lamprophyres, pyroxenites, related rocks and their entrained xenoliths and on Deccan Traps. This award is given annually to a meritorious Scientist (below 60 years ) for outstanding contribution to Earth Sciences covering land and/or offshore of India using indigenous resources. Prof Rao is a recipient of several awards/recognitions including FNA, FASc, Fellow of Telangana Acad Sciences, National Mineral Award, Excellence award by MoES, Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, Cambridge-Nehru Scholarship, Physical Research Laboratory award, Coggin Brown Gold Medal, Prof CNR Rao award, Anni Talwani Gold Medal, Naha Award, Krishnan Gold medal, UGC Research award, Naganna Gold Medal, National Merit Scholarship, Asiatic society award etc. He has published more than 130 papers in SCI journals, guided 15 PhD students and more than 50 Masters students for their dissertation. He has also established EPMA and SEM labs at BHU from his own grants as PI which are well known in India..

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.