Biman Banerjee – Speaker, West Bengal Assembly awarded with Ideal Legislative Assembly Speaker Award

Pune: Biman Banerjee – Hon’ble Speaker, West Bengal State Legislative Assembly conferred today with Ideal Legislative Assembly Speaker Award at the 9th Bharatiya Chhatra Sansad (BCS), organized by the MIT School of Government (MIT-SOG) in Pune at MIT- World Peace University campus.

Dr.Vishwanath Karad- Founder of MIT World Peace University, Mr. Rahul Karad, Founder & Dean, MIT-SOG and Executive President- MIT World Peace University, Mr. Harivansh – Hon’ble Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha & Noted Journalist and Bhaishri Rameshbhai Oza – Spiritual Mentor gave this award to Mr. Banerjee. This award consisted of Memento and 1 lakh rupees award prize which Mr. Banerjee gave back to MIT and requested them to start the scholarship with this amount for the students of MIT-School of Government.

Bharatiya Chhatra Sansad (BCS) is a first-of-its-kind social initiative, aimed at channelizing the youth towards the strengthening of democracy and tackling issues related to nation building. This event invites students from colleges and institutions from across the country. The 9th edition of BCS has prominent personalities from different walks of life providing their views on a range of topics regarding India’s progress and development as an emerging global power. The aim of the event is to encourage young minds to be politically active and work towards the development of the country.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Biman Banerjee, Speaker, West Bengal State Legislative Assembly said, “I would like to congratulate MIT-SOG for organizing this unique initiative which is needed today to develop future political leaders. Politics is the best way to service your people and people should look at Politics as an opportunity to serve people and do things for their betterment. I would like to convey my regards and best wishes to all the young leaders who are attending this student parliament and I am thankful to MIT-SOG’s management and BCS platform for giving me this honor.”

In the 9th edition of BCS, students will get to listen and interact with various dignitaries from Political, social and entrepreneurial background. Devendra Fadnavis- Chief Minister-Maharashtra, Sharad Pawar- National President- NCP and Rajyasabha MP, Smt. Brinda karat-Senior leader-CPI, Smt. Trupti Desai-Gender Equality Activist, Adv. Jignesh Mewani-Dalit Activist and MLA, Gujarat, Prakash Raj-Film Actor and Founder- Prakash Raj Foundation, Ashutosh-Senior Journalist, Hitendra Nath Goswami-Speaker- Assam State Legislative Assembly, Shankarsinh Vaghela-Former CM-Gujarat, Tushar Gandhi President Mahatma Gandhi Foundation, Dr. Abhishek Manu Singhvi-Eminent Lawyer and MP Congress, Adv. Prashant Bhushan- Emiinent Lawyer and Social Activist, Adv Majeed Menon- MP Rajysabha NCP, Dr. A Velumani- Founder Thyrocare Technologies are among some of the prominent speakers at the three-day student parliament.

MIT’s School of Government (MIT-SOG) offers UGC approved 2 years Masters Course in Political Leadership Government (MPG) which is designed to channelize the strength of young aspirants and to enable them to be competent political leaders. This program helps individuals to better comprehend how governments operate and interact, the influence government policies have on the economic stability and growth, and how laws affect the social and political environment of the country. Those who are interested in contesting elections and or working with leading political leaders, social leader, and other government bodies, or as back office executive in political parties etc. gets highly benefited from this course. Students with Masters in Political Leadership and Government (MPG) gets various career prospects such as Research Associate, Political Analyst, Policy Associate, Political Strategist, Political Consultant, Election Research & Campaign Managers, Social Media Analyst,etc.

MIT-SOG is the only school in India which teaches political process to young students with political aspirations. This school is based on the Kennedy School of Politics, USA.