Bournemouth University: Exceptional student achievements honoured at the Faculty of Health & Social Sciences Awards Ceremony

The awards celebrate the hard work and dedication of students from across Bournemouth University’s health and social sciences courses – with departmental and course-specific prizes being given among awards recognising compassionate care, exceptional leadership qualities, and achievement against adversity.

The awards were opened by BU Vice-Chancellor Professor John Vinney and the Faculty of Health & Social Sciences’ Deputy Dean of Education and Professional Practice, Dr Sara White, and were closed by the Dean of the Faculty of Health & Social Sciences, Professor Anand Pandyan.

Dr Sara White said: “This awards ceremony is a fantastic occasion to celebrate the achievements of some of our students and recognise their hard work and dedication to their studies and future careers.

“I was heartened to hear stories of students who have continued to achieve despite adversity, as well as those who have excelled in their placement or academic work.

“We wish all our health and social sciences final year students’ good luck as they embark upon their careers and look forward to hearing about what they go on to accomplish.”

Full list of the winners:

The Dr Eleanor Bond Prize: Carly Reed

The Sports Therapy Bridge Health & Wellbeing Prize: Adele Young

The Sue Sutherland Prize: Emmanuel Asante Owusu

The Department of Social Sciences & Social Work Award: Samuel Cheshire

The Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust Award: Sarah Stephens, Hayley Payne and Lyianna Maize

The Department of Midwifery & Health Sciences Award: Michelle Clark

The South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust Award: Kelly Bateman

The Roger White Prize: Hannah Gurr (BA) and Natasha Foster (MA)

The University Hospitals Dorset Outstanding Student Nurse Award: Dale Gregory

The Phi Mu Chapter (England) Joint Award: Donna Cornelius and Georgina Manser

The Sarah Cheesman Compassionate Care Prize: Georgios Romanakis

The Department of Nursing Science Award: Robyn Aggett

The Prudence Donaldson Wright Memorial Prize: Carly Reed

The Department of Medical Science & Public Health Award: Nina Rajska and Kerensa Thomas

The Dorset Council Award: June Simmons (BA) and William Smith (MA)

The Department of Rehabilitation & Sports Sciences Award; Thomas Jackson

The Lesley Milne Midwifery Prize: Verity James

The Sports Therapy Total Therapy Award for Excellence: Benjamin Horton

The Bournemouth University Social Work Award for Tenacity: Molly Booker

The Bournemouth University Student’s Union Award: Nathan le Blancq, Charlotte Crutcher, Hollie Sanderson and Jessica Bolton of the Committee of the Pre-Hospital Emergency Care Society.