Carnegie Mellon University: Five CMU Faculty Selected for Amazon Research Awards

Amazon selected five Carnegie Mellon University faculty members to receive funding in its latest round of Amazon Research Awards.

Katerina Fragkiadaki, Ruben Martins and Heather Miller from the School of Computer Science; and Sivaraman Balakrishnan and David Danks in the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences received fellowships.

The awards provide funding, access to Amazon public datasets, and the use of artificial intelligence and machine learning services and tools. Each award is intended to support one year of work for one to two graduate students or postdoctoral students with faculty supervision. Amazon provided 101 awards to recipients from 59 universities.

“The 2020 Amazon Research Awards recipients represent a distinguished array of academic researchers who are pursuing research across areas such as machine learning algorithms and theory, fairness in AI, computer vision, natural language processing, edge computing and medical research,” said Bratin Saha, vice president of Amazon Web Services’ Machine Learning Services. “We are excited by the depth and breadth of their proposals, as well as the opportunity to advance the science through strengthened connections among academic researchers, their institutions and our research teams.”

Comments are closed.