Four Monash University staff and alumni have been awarded prestigious 2022 Australian-American Fulbright Scholarships.

The Postdoctoral, Scholar and Professional Leadership awards enable recipients to undertake research and/or secondment at a US institute or university, while the Future Scholarship funds innovative, impact-focused projects.

They are awarded to students, academics, researchers and professionals who represent the top tier of talent in their fields.

Monash University President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Gardner AC said receiving a Fulbright Scholarship was a testament to the recipients’ outstanding achievements.

“Monash University fosters an environment of research and learning that nurtures our students, academics, researchers and professionals to become global leaders in their fields,” Professor Gardner said.

“A Fulbright Scholarship will enable this year’s recipients to build on their learning and research with some of the world’s greatest minds.

“I warmly congratulate all recipients.”

The Monash 2022 Fulbright Scholarship winners are:


Dr Kelly Atkins – Fulbright Future Scholarship


Liam Turner – Fulbright Future Scholarship

Julian O’Shea – Fulbright Future Scholarship

Kathleen Garland – Fulbright Victoria Scholarship