Central University of Punjab’s Professor elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry


Bathinda : Prof. Raj Kumar, Dean, School of Health Sciences, and HoD, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Natural Products at the Central University of Punjab, Bathinda (CUPB) has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, London (UK) for his remarkable research work in the fields of Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry.

Founded in 1841, the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), London, is the world’s leading community for advancing excellence in the field of chemical sciences. This professional association acts as a platform for top international scientists to collaborate and make innovation happen. Each year, approximately 50 new fellows are elected from the worldwide community of chemists. The elected Fellows are given the designation of Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).

On this occasion, Prof. Raghavendra P. Tiwari, the Vice Chancellor, congratulated Prof. Raj Kumar on behalf of the CUPB fraternity for bringing laurels to the university. He mentioned that the prestigious honour of FRSC is only given to an internationally selected group of scientists, and the award of this honour to Prof. Raj Kumar is recognition of his outstanding contribution to chemistry.

Dr. Raj Kumar earned his Ph.D. (Medicinal Chemistry) in 2007 from NIPER, Mohali. Thereafter, he carried out his postdoctoral training at the University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC), USA from 2007-2008. He joined the Central University of Punjab in 2011 and started his research work in the areas of Anticancer Research through the exploration of multiple mechanisms such as EGFR, PKM2, etc., Xanthine oxidase inhibitors for the treatment of hyperuricemia and gout, PDE4, and COX-2 indicators. During his 20 years of research experience, Dr. Raj Kumar has published 93 research papers in high impact factor journals and five patents which have received 3230 citations (h-index 33), edited two books, and authored four book chapters. Under his supervision, a total of 35 M.Pharm. and 4 Ph.D. students have completed their research theses.


Comments are closed.