Commonwealth Split – site Doctoral Scholarship 2011

Commonwealth Split – site Doctoral Scholarship 2011

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission, United Kingdom has offered Commonwealth Split – site Doctoral Scholarship tenable in the United Kingdom for the year 2010 – 2011.
The Commonwealth Split site Scholarships are available in all disciplines including Medicine and Dentistry.

Commonwealth Split – site Doctoral Scholarship Eligibility :

Citizen and Residency : Candidates should be citizen of India.

Qualification Requirement : Hold by 1st October 2011, a first degree of upper second class Honours standard (or above) or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification, which will normally be a Master’s degree and in the fields of medicine and dentistry have qualified as a Doctor or Dentist between 01 October 2001 and 30 September 2006.

Duration : 12 months period of study or two six months periods.

Effective date of award : The Scholarship will commence from September / October 2011 in U.K.

Application must be submitted using the Commission’s Electronic Application System (EAS), a link to which is available on website at

The form can be downloaded, saved and completed electronically but should then be printed six times and submitted to UGC duly signed by the Vice – Chancellor (in case of University / Colleges) and Executive Head (in case of Institution) along with office seal and with all the required supporting documents (attested copies of original) so as to reach the following address  on or before 15th October, 2010.

Section Officer (IC Section),
Room No.505,
University Grants Commission,
Bahadurshah Zafar Marg,
New Delhi – 110 002 .

Application received after the due date will not be entertained. A copy of the guidelines along with the synopsis form is enclosed.

It is also available on the UGC website at and

You are requested to display the above offer prominently and bring it to the notice of all Institutions and affiliated colleges and forward not more than five nominations (this should be in order of merit and strictly followed). Individual nomination should not be sent.

Direct application from the applicant will not be entertained. The candidate is requested to be ready to complete their EAS application by 07th December 2010 in U.K, if selected.

It may please be noted that nomination made by the UGC does not automatically guarantee selection or placement in UK and final selection of candidates rest with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in United Kingdom.

It may be noted that for 12 months study in the United Kingdom on Split – site basis must be made in the context of a department / institutional link with a UK University already in operation or currently under negotiation.

Candidates will have the option of one full 12 months period of study or two six month periods with a period not greater than their home Ph.d at the time of application will be eligible to spend a maximum of six months in the UK in the first year of their studies.