DDC declares Volley ball tournament open at Udhampur

Udhampur: Government Model Higher Secondary School Boys Udhampur today organized a Volleyball Tournament here at its newly constructed campus.
District Development Commissioner, Udhampur Dr Piyush Singla was the chief guest on the occasion and declared the championship opened amid a colourful inaugural function by releasing Tricolour balloons. President Municipal Council Udhampur, Dr. Jogeshwar Gupta was the guest of honour and Chief Education Officer, P D Sharma presided over the function.
As many as 10 teams from different schools took part in the tournament on the opening day. The purpose behind the vent was to bring the students out of gloom looming large on their minds due to closure of schools almost for a year because of spread of COVID-19.
In his inaugural address, the DDC extended his best wishes to the participating teams and said that sports help the youth to channelize their energy in a positive way and inculcate the spirit of brotherhood. He further said that holding such sports events was a step forward to give a platform to the budding players of the district and to encourage the sports culture for developing a healthy society.
The matches were officiated by Sanjay Sharma (PEM), Sanjeev Verma (PET), Manik Nargotra, Kuldeep Sharma while Sonia Choudhary (Lecturer) and Amit Sharma (PET) of the school and a National Player of Volleyball conducted the proceedings of the whole programme and presented the vote of thanks. On the occasion, Sarbjit Singh (Senior Pharmacist) was deputed by Chief Medical Officer Udhampur for first aid and to follow SOP’s of COVID-19.
First Match of the tournament was won by GHSS Barta by defeating GHSS Barolla by 2-0 (25-13, 25-19), Second match was played between GMHSS Boys Udhampur and GHSS Garhi ane won by the former by 2-1 (25-21, 23-25, 12-15).
Among others present were District Youth Services and Sport Officer, Swarn Singh; S.K. Gandotra (Joint Director Education Retd); P L Suri (Chief Education Officer Retd.); Ashok Kumar (Retd. Deputy Director Sports); Vijay Nargotra (Principal Retd.); Vikram Salathia (Councillor); Anil Arora (Councillor); Vidya Sagar Sharma (DSP); Anooroop Sharma (DSP); Manager Subash Stadium Udhampur, Shaktish Chopra and others.


Comments are closed.