District action plan under JJM approved for Udhampur

Udhampur: District action plan under Jal Jevan Mission (JJM) was today approved for Udhampur here at a meeting of District Jal Jevan Mission committee chaired by District Development Commissioner, Dr. Piyush Singla.
At outset, Superintendent Engineer, Jal Shakti Department, P.P Arora, who is member secretary of the Committee briefed about the Jal Jeevan Mission. The SE informed that that 150 water supply schemes have been proposed under Jal Jeevan Mission covering 336 villages with an estimated cost of Rs 9.98 Cr. He said that total number of rural households in the district are 84264, of which 28746 are already connected, 48855 are to be connected through FHTC (Functional households tap connection) while 510280 souls will be benefited by this scheme. He further added that these schemes include retrofitting of existing schemes and new schemes.
The DDC asked Jal Shakti Department to ensure the feasibility and availability of sufficient water at the source. He further asked Jal Shakti Department to prepare the scheme wise land requirement so that state land can be identified and earmarked for the project.
The DDC said that under Jal Jeevan Mission, every household has to be provided drinking water supply with adequate quantity of prescribed quality on regular and long term basis at affordable service delivery charges leading to improvement in living standards of rural communities. DDC said that the objective of the mission is to provide FHTC to every rural household at minimum service level of 55LPCD.
During the meeting, Information Education Communication (IEC) activities component was also discussed. The ADDC was designated as the Nodal officer for IEC activity in the district. The DDC stressed on community participation and community ownership and asked JSD to work out the modalities for community participation. DDC also appreciated the JSD for completing the DPRs in consultation with village level Paani Samitis .
Among others the meeting was attended by Additional District Development Commissioner, Ashok Kumare; SE, P.P Arora; Chief Planning Officer, Rajeev Bhushan; ,DFO Shavita Jandial; District Social Welfare Officer, Er. Sajad Bashir Somberia; Chief Medical Officer, Dr. KC Dogra; Executive Engineer PHE, Taj Choudhary, besides Nominated members of JJM, Surat Singh Somberia and Dr. Rajinder Nagar.

Comments are closed.