Div Com tees off golf championship at Jammu Tawi Golf Club, Sidhra; 76 players participate in one day tournament


JAMMU : The Jammu Tawi Golf Course (JTGC), in association with SLW Golf Management and Golf Plus Magazine, on Saturday organized a JTGC Golf Championship 2021 here at Sidhra. Divisional Commissioner, Jammu, Raghav Langer teed off the first ball of the event. ADGP Jammu, Mukesh Singh; Director Tourism, Jammu Vivekanand Rai; and Secretary Jammu Tawi Golf Course, Manav Gupta were also present there.

As many as 76 players participated in the day-long tournament, who were divided into 19 four-balls including 4 four balls of senior citizens.

Vedant Handa (General Category) and Col. Raghunanadan Sharma (Senior Category) was adjudged as the overall winner of the tournament, while Shubham Puri and Omair Nisar Ganai/Prabhunur Singh (General Category) were declared as Ist and 2nd runner–up of the tournament respectively. Raj Nath Wanchoo and Col. Vijay Mahajan (Senior Category) were declared Ist and 2nd runner–up of the tournament respectively.

Col. Gurpal Singh (1 inch) bagged the award for the straight drive. The longest drive award went to Col. J.S Ranhawa (280 mtr), while Closest to the pin at Hole no. 2 and Hole no.13 award went to Col Raghunandnan Sharma ( 3 feet, 9 inches) and Dr. Shamim Mir (10 inches) respectively.


Congratulating the winners, Director Tourism Jammu, Vivekanand Rai stressed the need for inculcating golfing culture among the younger generation. Appreciating Manav Gupta secretary JTGC and management of JTGC for the successful conduct of the event, he said that such tournaments should be organized on a regular basis.

Later, Director Tourism Jammu, Vivekanand Rai and Secretary Jammu Tawi Golf Course, Manav Gupta presented trophies and mementoes to the winners, runner-ups and other players, who were adjudged best in different categories.

The trophies were also presented to the players who played best among each four-ball category which included Manav Gupta, Joginder Singh, Shubham Puri, Jaideep Singh Manocha, Sukhdeep Manocha, Vedant Handa, Akash Bhola, Capt. Sachin Sharma, Col. KBS Sambyal, Ashkoor Wani, Pankaj Bhardwaj/Vivek Khajuria, V.M Singh, Arindham, Raghunandan Sharma, Col. Vijay Mahajan, IPS Bali, Raj Nath Wanchoo and appreciation award was given to Kuldeep Singh (Supervisor JTGC) for good upkeep and maintenance of Jammu Tawi Golf Course

Manav Gupta thanked all the Golfers for participating in the tournament with great enthusiasm and zeal. He also thanked event partner SLW Golf Management and Golf Plus Magazine for making the event a big Success.

Secretary JTGC, Manav Gupta informed that many more Tournaments will be conducted in future and hoped to conduct PGTI tournaments also. They are also going to conduct tournaments in Sanasar.