Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank to inaugurate 46th Online Faculty Development Programmes by AICTE, ATAL Academies

New Delhi: In a further push to faculty development and training across the country, the All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE), on Monday, will inaugurate 46 online AICTE Training and Learning (ATAL) Academy Faculty Development Programmes (FDPs) in the presence of the chief guest Hon’ble Education Minister, Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

The ATAL Academy, under the aegis of AICTE, conducts various Faculty Development Programmes to impart and upgrade faculty knowledge and skills.

“Employability of engineers became a major issue over time, as industry finds that the students come totally unprepared for their needs. AICTE has taken a noble initiative of bridging this gap by training faculty members which in turn will guide students in new emerging areas. In these testing times, AICTE provided impetus to conduct online ATAL faculty development programs so that no faculty members may lose out training due to the pandemic situation,” said Hon’ble Minister of Education Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’.

Dr. Ravindra Kumar Soni, Director, ATAL Academies said, “The ATAL FDPs are a part of various quality initiatives taken by AICTE to promote technical education in the country, which includes an enhanced impetus on career development of faculty teaching in the colleges across the country.”

“The FDP scheme is designed to enhance the teaching and other skills of the faculty, and to make them aware about modern teaching tools and methodologies. It provides an opportunity to acquire knowledge about current technological developments in relevant fields. It will not only promote the professional practices relevant to technical education but also motivates the faculty to achieve a competitive teaching and learning environment, thus channelizing development with respect to academic qualifications and personal matters,” said Prof. Anil D Sahasrabuddhe, Chairman, AICTE.

A committee constituted by AICTE under chairmanship of Dr B.V.R Mohan Ready Executive Chairman of Cyient and Industrial Bodies, for this purpose, recommended that following nine disciplines/courses (‘Thrust Area’) must be promoted by AICTE: Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things, Block-chain, Robotics, Quantum Computing, Data Sciences, Cyber Security, 3D Printing & Design, and Augmented Reality/Virtual Reality.

In 2019-20, 185 five-day face-to-face FDPs in nine thrust areas benefited around 10,000 participants. Additionally, in the year 2020-21, new thrust areas in the field of Engineering, Management, Life Skills, Design & Media were incorporated.

“As online teaching and learning has gone largely digital in the new normal due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ATAL Academy decided to conduct FDPs in online mode. AICTE has further planned 1000 online FDPs on thrust areas and other emerging areas which aims to benefit one lakh participants. Out of 1,000 FDPs, 499 online FDP have been completed with more than 70,000 faculty members already trained,” said Prof M.P. Poonia, Vice Chairman, AICTE.

On November 23, the 500th ATAL FDP is going to start along with 46 more ATAL FDPs which will be inaugurated in the auspicious presence of . He has also unveiled the ATAL information booklet last year in September and announced many Atal Academies throughout India.

“The training programs were well-received throughout the country with participation from premier institutions like IITs, NITs, and IIITs. These premier institutions as well as institutes of national importance are participating in this inaugural programme,” said Prof Rajive Kumar, Member Secretary, AICTE.

Dignitaries who will witness the inaugural ceremony will be Hon’ble Minister of Education Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank; Prof. Anil D Sahasrabuddhe Chairman AICTE; Prof M.P. Poonia VCM AICTE; Prof Rajive Kumar Member Secretary AICTE ; Prof. Raghavendra P. Tiwari Vice Chancellor Central University of Punjab, Bathinda; Dr. Ravindra Kumar Soni Director ATAL Academies; Dr. Narasimha Sarma Director, IIIT Trichy; Prof. Ajit K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee; Dr. Manoj Singh Gaur, Director, IIT Jammu; and Dr Girdhari Lal Garg, Assistant Director, ATAL CELL.

Comments are closed.