ETU “LETI”: Project Supported by Interreg Baltic Sea Region

In January 2021, the Baltic Science Network – A Science Powerhouse project concluded the second round of selection, funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Russian Federation. At an online conference, Russian and Baltic region scientists presented their research in photon and neutron science.

The independent Expert Panel included university leadership, top-level researchers, and research teams from Latvia, Denmark, France, Norway, Estonia, and Russia. The experts evaluated project quality and their potential for Baltic region development.

Iliya Sheinman, Associate Professor of the Department of Physics of ETU “LETI,” proposed a wakefield undulator to generate powerful electromagnetic radiation. A bent wakefield dielectric waveguide can be used as a particle accelerator terminal device, which could lower the cost and raise the effectiveness of free-electron lasers to generate powerful THz, UV, and X-ray radiation.

The jury found the project proposed by Iliya Sheinman to be very scientifically intriguing and acknowledged its high engineering potential. The experts also highlighted that the project is a great example of the EU-Russia research cooperation initiative.

In the end, the participants will attend seminars and advisory sessions, which will allow them to seek funding, develop grant applications or meet with potential sponsors and partners with extensive research infrastructures. This is also an opportunity to implement the wakefield undulator at a MEGASCIENCE European research facility.

For reference
An international Baltic Science Network – A Science Powerhouse project is funded by the European Regional Development Fund and the Russian Federation. The project struggles to provide wider access to research infrastructures and academic mobility for joint research projects in photon and neutron research, life sciences, and welfare state.

The project consortium includes state authority, international and national agencies of Baltic Sea Region countries. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Sweden, and Russia are member states of the Council of the Baltic Sea States.

Comments are closed.