Excellence in Education Awards: Delhi Government recognizes teachers for their remarkable contributions

New Delhi: On Teachers’ Day, Mrs. Alka Kapur, Principal Modern Public School, Shalimar Bagh, was felicitated by Delhi Directorate of Education at Thyagraj Stadium New Delhi. The Chief Minister of Delhi Shri Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy Chief Minister Shri Manish Sisodia presented the award. The grand occasion was attended by many distinguished personalities, dignitaries and teachers.

While extending her gratitude, Mrs. Alka Kapur, Principal Modern Public School, Shalimar Bagh, said, “I dedicate this award to my teachers, students and parents for their hard work and cooperation. It is very encouraging as well as motivating for a facilitator to receive this coveted recognition for bringing reforms in Education Sector. A good teacher is one who not only educates students but also empowers them by instilling confidence and moral values. She guides them towards a respectable and successful life.”

Mrs. Alka Kapur has been in this noble profession of teaching for the last 30 years. Under her stewardship, Modern Public School, Shalimar Bagh has earned various awards and recognition. She is a pioneer in introducing a unique CSR programme “Roti Bank” not only in her school but also in other schools across Delhi. Under this initiative every day, all members of staff and students bring some food and distribute it among the needy students. Apart from being an inspiration, Ms. Alka Kapur is an epitome of success. From academia to social service, she has everything under her belt.

“Being an educationist, I want to inculcate both virtues and values in my students, and the accomplishment of this objective would be the most valuable reward for me. Once again, many thanks to the Directorate of Education for acknowledging our efforts towards quality education,” further added by Mrs. Alka Kapur.

Mrs. Kapur is an iconic figure in the world of education as she has been the custodian of a school’s ideals, of the beliefs it cherishes and its permanent hopes. Under her inspiring tutelage and leadership, the school has marched ahead in full stride. She is a lady of sublime virtues who carved a distinct niche for her in the hearts of students, parents, and teachers. Her dedication and devotion, along with the compassionate behavior for the weaker section and downtrodden strata of the society, is worthy of appreciation. The school has reached the unprecedented heights of success and has entered into a galore of new glory in her august presence.

As an educationist, Mrs. Kapur is holding notable positions in the World of Education. She is the President of Delhi Sahodaya Schools Complex, Vice president Indraprastha School Sahodaya, Member of National Progressive School Conference, Member Action Committee Unaided Recognized Public Schools, Executive member of Quality Education Asia and Member, Forum Of Public Schools.

Mrs. Kapur’s life has been embellished with numerous awards and recognition for her distinguished services and contribution in the field of education. These felicitations include:

Ø Conferred with the prestigious Mahatma Gandhi Samman Award in Global Indian Summit held at House of Lords, London, UK

Ø Designated as Ambassador Mission Knowledge by Indian Federation of United Nations Associations

Ø Uttarakhand Ratan Award by Progressive Principal School’s Association

Ø Conferred with the Prestigious Guru Drona Awards by Shri. Manoj Tiwari, Member of Parliament.

Ø MPS featured in Forbes India Magazine Special Edition, The Great Indian School 2018

Ø Honoured with 21st Century Education Leadership Award by American Leadership Board

Ø Visionary Leader Award by Education Today

Ø Educational Reformer of the year by National School Award

Ø Rasthtra Nirmata Shikshak Samman Diwas

Ø Conferred with Visionary Eduleader of India by Deputy CM Mr. Manush Sisodia at National Convention of eduLEADERS & eduPRENEURS

Ø Felicitated with Most Influential Educationist of Asia Award at Thimpu, Bhutan

Ø Conferred with Progressive Principal of India Award

Ø State Award by Federation of Public Schools presented by then Chief Minister Shrimati Sheila Dixit