GCW Udhampur organizes extension lecture on Urdu Imla


UDHAMPUR : A one-day extension lecture on “URDU IMLA “was today organized by Urdu department of Government College for Women Udhmapur, in collaboration with literacy club.

The event was held under the convenorship of Dr. Mool Raj (HOD Urdu). The program began with the presentation of floral bouquet to the chief guest and the resource person Dr. T. R Raina- an eminent Urdu scholar, author and critic.

Dr Mool Raj convener of literary club formally introduced the chief resource person and other dignitaries present in the program.

The Principal of the college Prof. Minu Mahajan, in her welcome address, extended warm greetings to the chief guest and also applauded the efforts of the literary club GCW Udhampur for organizing such an informative lecture for the students. She also emphasized that Urdu Language is an epitome of the composite culture of India evolved over ages ‘which represents our cultural diversity, Universal brotherhood, Unity and inter- Language’s synthesis.’

While deliberating on the topic URDU IMLA, Dr. Raina familiarized the students and audience about the basics of ‘Haroof-e-Tehji’ (Alphabets), there origin and phonetics. He also shared his opinion about the amalgamation of Urdu Language from alphabets of different Languages like Arabic, Persian, Sanskrit, Turkey and many others.

Dr. Raina also gave tips about nuances of Urdu vocabulary. While touching the basics of Urdu writing, he highlighted the common mistakes a writer commits and also showed the symbolic change the Urdu Alphabets underwent from time to time.

Concluding his lecture, he urged and appealed the audience that Urdu does not belong to any particular community, caste, religion and region, rather it contributes immensely to uphold our identity as a democratic, liberal and diverse entity as a country.

About hundred students of Urdu department and twenty faculty members across disciplines attended the lecture.

Prof. Ashni Devi, Dr. Arun Gupta, Dr. Sumit Sharma, Prof. Sanjeev Upadhaye, Prof. ShalluJasrotia, and Dr. MenazKousarwere the members involved in the smooth conduct of the programme.The formal vote of thanks was presented by Prof. Yash Paul (HOD History).


Comments are closed.