Government announces 11 chairs in the name of eminent women in various fields of Science & Technology

New Delhi: On the occasion of National Science Day yesterday, Government has announced 11 chairs in the name of eminent Indian women scientists in various fields to inspire, encourage, empower women and give due recognition to young women researchers excelling in various fields.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has announced several schemes for Women’s Empowerment and the proposal is in line with theme for this year’s National Science Day – ‘Women in Science’.

The 11 Chairs have been instituted in various areas of research including Agriculture, Biotechnology, Immunology, Phytomedicine, Biochemistry, Medicine, Social Sciences, Earth Science & Meteorology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics & Fundamental Research.

One of the chairs constituted is under the name of the noted anthropologist Dr IrawatiKarve.

Details are as following:

SN Chair to be instituted in the name of


Fields with which the Scientist was associated
Dr. Archana Sharma (1932-2008) Renowned cytogenetist Agriculture and Allied Research
Dr. Janaki Ammal (1897-1984) The Pioneering Botanist Biotechnology


Dr. Darshan Ranganathan

(1941-2001) Organic Chemist

Dr. Ashima Chatterjee (1917-2006) Chemist Par Excellence Organic Chemistry, Phytomedicine


Dr. KadambiniGanguly(1861-1923) A doctor who broke the muth Medicine
Dr IrawatiKarve (1905-1970) Studying Humans Anthropology
Dr. Anna Mani (1918-2001) Pioneer Indian Meterologist Meteorology
Dr. Rajeshwari Chatterjee (1922-2010) First Woman engineer from the State of Karnataka Engineering
Dr. Raman Parimala (b.1948) Mathematician (Bhatnagar Award, 1987) Mathematics
Bibhachowdhuri (1913-1991) Physics
Kamal Ranadive (8 November 1917-2001) (medicine) Biomedical Research

Comments are closed.