Hindi Academy Delhi honors Salil Chaturvedi with Hindi Seva Samman

New Delhi: Hindi Academy of Delhi, honored Poet, writer and social activist Salil Chaturvedi with Hindi Seva Samman. Salil Chaturvedi received this accolade from the Chief Guest Manish Sisodia, Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi ,for his poetry book ‘ य र ल व श स ह’ ‘.

The Hindi Academy honors writers, litterateurs, journalists and poets, for their outstanding contributions to Hindi literature. This year, 15 selected people were given this honor in a program organized in Kamani Auditorium at Monday evening,

Salil Chaturvedi, while expressing his views on receiving the honor said “It is a great pleasure to receive this honor. It is in the interest of society that the voices of litterateurs should reach the public. Through this award of Hindi Academy, the readers will be more aware of the works of contemporary writers and poets. ”

Salil Chaturvedi met with a road accident in 1984 in Allahabad when his was just 16 years old and has been using a wheelchair ever since. He has represented India for Wheelchair Tennis in Australia and Japan in the 1990s. He started his professional life as an editor in a feature service. In 2007, he won the Unisun/British Council Short Story Competition and He was the Asia region winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Competition 2008. In 2009 he sailed with a team on a Bombay Harbour Seabird called ‘Joy’ from Mumbai to Goa to draw attention to accessibility for persons with disabilities. In 2015 he won the Wordweavers Poetry Contest . Apart from poetry He is an avid reader and writer of haiku. His haiku and haibun have been published in various international journals including Modern Haiku, Frogpond, The Heron’s Nest, Failed Haiku,

Chrysanthemum, Wild Plum, Acorn and Hedgerow.

Apart from this, the famous Hindi litterateur and critic Dr. Vishwanath Tripathi was awarded the 2018-19 Shalaaka Sammaan by the Deputy Chief Minister. This time the ‘Shikhar Sammaan’ of the Hindi Academy was awarded to Sheela Jhunjhunwala. Sudhakar Babu Pathak Verma was honored with ‘Vishisht Yogadaan Sammaan’, Manik Verma with “Kavya Sammaan” ,Dr. Shyoraj Singh Bechain with “Gady vidya Sammaan”,Dr.Yatish Aggarwal with “Gyaan Praudyogikee Sammaan”, Ghamandi Lal Agarwal with “Bal Sahitya Sammaan” , Radhavallabh Tripathi with “Naatyay sammaan”,Varun Grover with “Haasyay Yyang sammaan”

Harjendra Chaudhary for “Anuvaad Sammaan” , Supriya Prasad with “Patrakaarita Sammaan” and Dr. Prithvi Singh with “Sahabhaasha Sammaan”

Apart from Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, Surendra Sharma, President of Hindi Akademi and Manisha Saxena, Secretary, Please add here , Government of Delhi were present in the program.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.