Hindu College wins The 5th Clash of the Titans Invitational Debate 2017

New Delhi: The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of Hindu College was established in 1958. Since its inception, the Association has been active in bringing the eminent alumni of the Hindu College, Delhi on one platform.

The Old Students’ Association, Hindu College successfully organized the fifth edition of “The Clash of the Titans Invitational Debate” at The Amphitheatre, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi on 2nd of December, 2017. The alumni of Six prestigious colleges of Delhi University of national fame Miranda House, Lady Shri Ram College, Shri Ram College of Commerce, Indraprastha College, Hansraj College and Hindu College participated in this great debating competition. The debaters tested their debating skill on a contemporary relevant topic: “Indian jobs are not threatened by the Fourth Industrial Revolution”.

Mr. Hardeep Singh Puri, Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) in the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Government of India was the chief guest on this occasion.

The jury consisted of Mr. M.K.Venu (Founding Editor of The Wire), Ambassador (Retd.) Mr. Ajai Malhotra (Member, UN Human Rights Council Advisory Committee, Geneva) & Mr. Shakti Sinha (Director, Nehru Memorial Museum & Library). Eminent Media personality Ms. Kajori Sen, Assistant Professor of Journalism Practice and Assistant Dean, O.P. Jindal Global University was the Moderator.
The Titans Cup ( Winning Team ) was won by the Hindu College team of Prashant Jha and Ruhi Tiwari . Prashant Jha, Hindu College & Jayati Ghosh, Miranda House were declared Joint Winners of The Best Speaker Prize.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Ravi Burman, Secretary, OSA, Hindu College said “We are pleased to organize ‘The 5th Clash of The Titans Invitational Debate 2017’ competition and have distinguished guests & participants from different walks of life who have brought laurels to their alma mater through their achievements. The Titans cup debate is growing in influence each year and this year women speakers out-numbered the men and had a larger number of youthful debaters being showcased. We look forward to similar engagements each year. We are grateful to all the college authorities and the alumni for making this event a success”.

Distinguished orators Ms. Ruhi Tiwari and Mr. Prashant Jha from Hindu College, Ms. Jayati Ghosh and Ms. Anshulika Dubey from Miranda House, Ms. Dakshita Das and Ms. Rolee Agarwal from Lady Shri Ram College, Ms. Mehakpreet Kaur and Mr. Parth Bhavsar from Shri Ram College of Commerce and Ms. Anisha Tandon and Ms. Vidushi Gupta from Indraprastha College participated in this unique debate.
Many eminent Hinduites graced the occasion including Dr. Anup Wadhawan (IAS), Special. Secretary. Department of Commerce, Government of India; Mr. Rajiv Jain, Director, Intelligence Bureau, Ministry of Home Affairs; Dr. Kavita A. Sharma, President, South Asian University; Mr. Rakesh Kacker, Director, India Habitat Centre; Ms. Veena Jain, Former Director General, DD NEWS, Ms. Loveleen Tandan, Film Director, I V S Juneja, former President, Delhi Golf Club.

Outstanding Academicians Dr. Babli Sen Saraf, Principal, IP College; Dr. Pratibha Jolly, Principal, Miranda House; Dr. Suman Sharma, Principal, LSR College, Prof Simrit Kaur, Principal SRCC graced the occasion with their presence.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.