HPKVN to sign five years contract agreement for setting up Centre of Excellence at Waknaghat

Shimla: 9th meeting of the Board of Directors of the Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam was held under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur here today.

It was decided in the meeting that the Himachal Pradesh Kaushal Vikas Nigam (HPKVN) would sign a Contract Agreement with the Operating Partners for a period of five years for setting up and operating the Centre of Excellence for Tourism and Hospitality at Waknaghat in Solan district and thereafter the contract agreement would be extended on the performance of Partner on mutually agreed terms and duration.

Chief Minister said that the State Government would provide subsidy on tuition fees to the Himachali students but the students would have to pay boarding and lodging charges including internship themselves. He said that about sixty percent seats would be reserved for the student of Himachal Pradesh in this institution, but during the first academic session, only Himachali candidates would be eligible for admission in the PET courses. He said that a few seats would also be reserved for the NRIs and foreign students.

Jai Ram Thakur said that training and equipments required for operationalisation of the Centre of Excellence would be procured by the HP Kaushal Vikas Nigam in consultation with Operating Partner and Management Committee. In addition to this the Nigam would also provide basic IT facilities in the Centre as per the recommendation of Operating Partner, he added.

Chief Minister said that responsibility of maintenance of machinery and equipments including repair and upgradation would be of the Operating Partner.

Technical Education Minister Dr. Ram Lal Markanda, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister Virender Kanwar, Education Minister Govind Singh Thakur and State Coordinator HP Kaushal Vikas Nigam Navin Sharma, also gave their valuable suggestions on the occasion.

Principal Secretary Technical Education K.K. Pant welcomed the Chief Minister and other dignitaries present on the occasion.

Managing Director HP Kaushal Vikas Nigam Rohan Chand Thakur conducted the proceedings of the meeting.

Chief Secretary Anil Khachi, Additional Chief Secretary Finance Prabodh Saxena, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister J.C. Sharma, Secretaries Sandeep Bhatnagar and Rajeev Sharma and other officers attended the meeting.