IHR Emergency Committee regarding the multi-country outbreak of monkeypox

The Director-General of WHO is convening an Emergency Committee under Article 48 of the International Health Regulations in relation to the current outbreak of monkeypox virus. The meeting will take place on 23 June 2022 and is open only to members and advisors of the Emergency Committee.

The objectives of this meeting are to provide views to the Director-General of WHO on whether the event constitutes a public health emergency of international concern and also on proposed potential Temporary Recommendations.

List of participants


Dr Jean-Marie Okwo-Bele – Public Health Consultant, national of the Democratic Republic of the Congo
Former Director of the Vaccines and Immunization Department, WHO headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (Retired)


Dr Nicola Low – Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health Medicine, Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, Switzerland

Other members 

Dr Daniel Bausch – Senior Director, Emerging Threats and Global Health Security, FIND, The Global Alliance for Diagnostics, Switzerland

Dr Clarissa Damaso – Associate Professor, Head, Laboratory of Molecular Biology of Viruses, Carlos Chagas Filho Biophysics Institute, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Dr Inger Damon (Rapporteur) – Director, Division of High Consequence Pathogens and Pathology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States of America

Dr Jake Dunning – Senior Researcher, Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Dr Ousmane Faye – Head, Virology Unit, Institut Pasteur de Dakar, Senegal

Dr Rinat Maksyutov – Director General, Federal Budgetary Research Institution – State Research Center of Virology and Biotechnology VECTOR, Federal Service for Surveillance on Consumer Rights Protection and Human Wellbeing, Russian Federation

Dr Othoman Mellouk – Lead, Access to Diagnostics and Medicines, International Treatment Preparedness Coalition, Morocco

Dr Dimie Ogoina – Head, Infectious Disease Unit, Okolobiri General Hospital, Niger Delta University, Bayelsa, Nigeria

Dr Nittaya Phanuphak – Executive Director, Institute of HIV Research and Innovation, Bangkok, Thailand

Dr Anne Rimoin – Professor of Epidemiology and Gordon-Levin Endowed Chair in Infectious Diseases and Public Health, Fielding School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles, United States of America

Dr Tomoya Saito – Director, Center for Emergency Preparedness and Response, National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Japan

Dr Kathrin Summermatter – Head of Biosafety Center and Managing Director of the BSL3, Institute for Infectious Diseases, University of Berne, Switzerland

Dr Daniel Tarantola – Adjunct Research Professor, Institute on Inequalities in Global Health, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, United States of America and Former Director of the Vaccines and Immunization Department, WHO headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (Retired)

Dr Zunyou Wu Chief Epidemiologist, Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Director, Division of HIV Prevention, NCAIDS/China CDC, China and Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology, University of California, Los Angeles, United States


Dr Steve Ahuka – Chief, Department of Virology, National Institute of Biomedical Research, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Dr Demetre Daskalakis – Director- Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, Centres of Disease Control and Prevention, United States of America

Dr Cleiton Euzebio De Lima – Senior Adviser for Communities and Key Populations, UNAIDS headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland

Dr Gregg Gonsalves – Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Yale Institute for Global, Health, Yale School of Public Health, Yale University, United States of America

Dr David Heymann – Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom; Head, Centre on Global Health Security, Chatham House, London, United Kingdom; and Former Assistant Director-General for Health Security, WHO headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (Retired)

Dr Wanda Markotter – Director, Centre for Viral Zoonoses, Department of Medical Virology, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Dr Gianfranco Spiteri – Group Lead, Epidemic Intelligence Group, European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, Sweden

Dr Theresa Tam – Chief Public Health Officer, Public Health Agency of Canada, Canada