IIM Bangalore’s Centre for Public Policy to host XIII International Conference on Public Policy & Management from Aug 23-25 at New Delhi’s India Habitat Centre

Bengaluru: The Centre for Public Policy (CPP) at the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore (IIMB) will host the XIII International Conference on Public Policy and Management, from August 23 to August 25, 2018, at the India Habitat Centre, New Delhi.

The theme for this year’s conference is ‘Inclusion and Exclusion: Policy and Practice’.
There is a special discount for students, hence they are requested to carry their ID cards. On-the-spot registrations can also be made during the conference at the registration desk.

This is the first time that IIMB has organized this conference to be held outside Bengaluru. The three-day event will include keynote speeches, panel discussions and round table conferences around many socially and economically relevant topics, which will include Consumer Citizenship and Social Inclusion, Diversity and Inclusion at Institutes of Higher Education, Scaling Livelihoods for Persons with a Disability, Terms of Reference of the Fifteenth Finance Commission, etc.

Speakers include Amita Baviskar, winner of the Infosys 2010 Prize for Social Sciences and Professor, Institute of Economic Growth; Ashwini Deshpande, Professor, Delhi School of Economics; Rajluxmi V Murthy, Professor, IIM Bangalore, Meenu Bhambhani, VP & Head, Corporate Social Responsibility, Mphasis; Arundhati Bhattacharya, Former Chairperson, State Bank of India; Shanti Raghavan, Founder, EnAble India; M Govinda Rao, Emeritus Professor, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy; Arghya Sengupta, Founder and Research Director, Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy; Balveer Arora, Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University; Pinaki Chakraborty, Professor, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, etc.

Shri KP Krishnan, Secretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, Government of India, will deliver the closing address on ‘Emerging Skill Development & Regulatory Ecosystem’.

Professor G. Raghuram, Director, IIMB, will deliver the welcome address and take part in some of the discussions. Other faculty members from IIMB who will participate in the panel discussions include Professors Hema Swaminathan (Chair, CPP), G Ramesh (CPP), Soham Sahoo (CPP), Anil B Suraj (CPP), Arnab Mukherji (CPP), Rajalaxmi Kamath (CPP), Rajluxmi V Murthy (Decision Sciences and Information Systems area and Chair, Committee on Inclusion), Gopal Naik (Economics & Social Sciences area and Dean, Faculty), Suresh Bhagavatula (Chair, NS Raghavan Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning), PC Narayan (former IIMB faculty member from the Finance & Accounting area), and N Ravi (Former Indian Foreign Service Officer and Adviser, CPP).

The international event will provide a platform to bring together scholars, practitioners and experts from different disciplines to discuss diverse policy issues. The event, now in its 13th year, is an avenue for disseminating contemporary public policy research and emerging practices across a wide set of domains within a single conference.

For the conference, full paper submissions were invited on different domains in public policy and management from academicians, researchers, practitioners and policy makers.