IIM Trichy inaugurates 11th PGPM, 2nd PGPM-HR, 9th DPM, and 2nd EDPM Batches

Trichy : Indian Institute of Management Tiruchirappalli (IIM Trichy) inaugurated its 11th batch of Post Graduate Programme in Management (PGPM), 2nd batch of Post Graduate Programme in Management – Human Resources (PGPM-HR), 9th batch of Doctoral Programme in Management (DPM), and 2nd batch of Executive Doctoral Programme in Management (EDPM) in an online ceremony held on Wednesday, July 07, 2021. Shri. B Thiagarajan, Managing Director, Blue Star Limited, graced the event as the Chief Guest. The guests and the students of the incoming batches attended the ceremony virtually.

The event commenced with an invocation and the lighting of the lamp by Dr. Pawan Kumar Singh, Director, IIM Tiruchirappalli, Prof. Deepak Kumar Srivastava, Dean Academics, Prof. Alok Kumar Singh, Chairperson, PGPM, Prof. Upam Pushpak Makhecha, Chairperson, PGPM-HR and Prof. Sujeet Kumar Sharma, Chairperson, DPM and EDPM.

Prof. Deepak Kumar Srivastava delivered the welcome address. The respective programme Chairpersons gave an overview of the various Post Graduate Programmes, their unique features and highlighted the diverse mix of students joining each of the programmes. For example, the incoming PGPM batch has students from 25 states and has nearly 60% female participants.

The Director, Dr. Pawan Kumar Singh, then addressed the gathering. He began on a spiritual note and expressed his heartfelt gratitude towards the Chief Guest, faculty, non-teaching staff, students, and their parents. He emphasized on learning with joy and delight while keeping up with the fast paced nature of the academic courses at the institute. On an optimistic note, he suggested that the institute looks forward to opening up its campus to its students as soon as it is appropriate to do so. He concluded by stressing the importance of developing a positive frame of mind.

The Chief Guest Shri. B Thiagarajan delivered the inaugural address. He highlighted the changes brought forth by the pandemic as organizations today seek leaders that exhibit a positive outlook and confidence, the ability to adapt quickly, an innovative and creative streak, compassion and empathy, and accountability for one’s community and environment with a focus on sustainability. In his address, he impressed upon the need for continuous learning, unlearning, and exploring the world through diverse people, places, and experiences. Through numerous quotes by renowned personalities and verses from the Holy Books, he stressed the importance of knowledge, faith, hope, and love. He reminisced on his own experiences and asked everyone to learn from one’s failures, develop a positive outlook that drives their actions, and work towards a brighter future. He urged everyone to dream big, invest their time responsibly, focus on the journey instead of the outcome, and acknowledged the pivotal role academic institutions play in shaping individuals. He concluded with a famous quote by Mahatma Gandhi, “Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

Prof. Alok Kumar Singh and Prof. Upam Pushpak Makhecha declared the awardees of the Director’s Merit Scholarship for best academic performance in the first year of the PGPM 2020-2022 and PGPM-HR 2020-2022 batches respectively. The winners from the PGPM batch are Mr. Rohit Luthra, Mr. Shashwat Jain, Mr. N Karthik, Mr. Arava Anil Kumar Reddy, Mr. Mani Bharathi P G, Mr. Prahasith Garimella, Mr. Joel Varghese, Mr. S J R Sai Nikhilesh, Mr. Swapnil Kulshreshtha, Mr. Antriksh Vijavat, Mr. Ram Kowshik S, Ms. K Jaya Satvika, Mr. P Rishikesh Menon, Mr. Karoor Manish, and Mr. U Praveen. The winners from the PGPM-HR batch are Mr. Aman Srivastava, Mr. Vibhor Upreti, Mr. Shivam Sharma, and Mr. Karumuru Preetham.