IIT Roorkee exchanged MOU with Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) of Norway for research and education


New Delh: Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee has exchanged the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) documents with Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) Norway during roundtable meeting organized at New Delhi today on “Leveraging Norwegian Experience for Hydropower Development in Indian Subcontinent”. The MoU shall provide the opportunity to strengthen and promote the research collaboration including areas of water, energy, and environment through exchange of students, faculty, staff, joint academic supervision of students and publications. The MoU will also include development and participation in collaborative research projects & programmes, participation in seminars, workshops, academic meetings and short-term academic programmes.


In the presence of His Excellency Mr. Nils Ragnar Kamsvåg, Ambassador, Royal Norwegian Embassy, Mr. Balraj Joshi, Chairman and Managing Director, NHPC Limited, Mr. Pradeep Yadav of Statkraft, Norwegian Hydropower Company, Ms. Hege Brende, Director, Norway Norwegian Research Centre for Hydropower Technology (HydroCen) of NTNU and Prof. Arun Kumar, Alternate Hydropower Energy Centre (AHEC)  and Prof. BK Gandhi, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department (MIED) from IIT Roorkee exchanged the MOU document.


Prof. Leif Lia, Prof Nils Ruther, Dr. Chirag Trivedi from NTNU along with Ms. Inger Midkandal, Science and Technology counsellor of Royal Norwegian embassy; Mr. N.K. Mathur, Member CWC; Mr. H.R. Khan, Advisor MNRE; Mr. S.N. Verma, MD UJVNL and many leaders from Indian, Bhutan and Nepal hydropower stakeholders were also present during the occasion.