IIT Roorkee observes Teacher’s Day by congratulating teachers for their Outstanding Performance



Roorkee: Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IITRoorkee) celebrates Teacher’s Day on Monday, September 5, 2022 in the campus. The institute organized an award ceremony to felicitate teachers for their outstanding performance in teaching, research and training at Dr. A.P. J. Abdul Kalam Block L2-104. Director of IIT Roorkee Prof. Ajit K. Chaturvedi; Prof. ManoranjanParida, Deputy Director, other faculty members, Heads of Departments and students were present for this occasion.


The program started with a tribute to late Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan after the arrival of all the guest and awardees.

Prof, A.K Sharma, Dean of Faculty Affairs (DoFA), IIT Roorkee,welcomed all at the felicitation program. He said, “Since our inception, today we are in our 175th of establishment, and we have always looked up at our Guru or teacher. They are the one to dispel the darkness of ignorance with the light of knowledge. The role of a teacher is not limited to teaching in classroom but transforming the lives through the medium of education. They are our guiding spirits and today we gather here to celebrate their achievement.”


The cut-off scores for the UG and PG categories were 4.43 and 4.74, respectively. On the basis of the average faculty scores of the last three years, in the respective categories, the committee noted the names of the winners in the UG and in the PG category for the “Outstanding Teacher Award for the year 2022”as cited below.

In the Under Graduate (UG) Category,Prof. Shabina Khanam, Department of Chemical Engineering has been recognized for her emphasis on how any theory can be practically implemented in the industry along with its pros and cons and zone of applicability.Prof. Vivek Pancholi, Department of Metallurgical & Materials Engineeringteaches courses like “Structural Metallurgy and “Phase transformation and Heat treatment” by creating animations. He emphasizes the development of student’s analytical skills, which the student can use in any field after graduation. And Prof. Nachiketa Rai, Department of Earth Sciences who joined in October 2016 specializes in formulating a systematic teaching and instructional plan, constructively challenging the students in courses by encouraging creative, out-of-the-box thinking even in traditional courses.


In the Post Graduate (PG) Category, Prof. Ramesh Anbanandam, Department of Management Studies has been felicitated for his innovative teaching pedagogies for an interactive and enjoyable learning experience. His teaching approach creates interest and a spark in the students’ minds. And Prof. Yogendra Singh, Department of Earthquake Engineeringfor his emphasis on design practices and standards being followed in India in comparison with other developed countries. He believes that this exercise prepares the students for the global design industry and gives them confidence to be able to handle new challenges.

Furthermore, Prof. Shiv Kumar Gupta who joined the institute in 20212 has been selected for the Prof. Bal Krishna ‘Outstanding Teacher Award (2022)of Department of Mathematics.The students greatly appreciate his enthusiasm for mathematics and empathy. And Prof. R. Balasubramanian, Department of Computer Science and Engineeringwho joined the institute in 2004 has been selected for the Ramkumar Prize for Outstanding Teaching & Research (2022).He has taught various computer science courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.


While congratulating the awardees, Prof. Ajit K Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, highlighted, ”Every year on September 5, we honor our teachers for their efforts to build the future generations. In appreciation of their contribution to nation building, on this day we also recognise the outstanding teachers. I am happy that this time seven teachers of IIT Roorkee will be felicitated in the Teachers’ Day function.”


Prof. ManoranjanParida, Deputy Director, IIt Roorkee, said, “I would like to congratulate the winners and teachers for providing students with the best experience possible. Teachers pass on values to children, prepare them for further education and the awardees contributed a great deal to the core of this idea by sharing their knowledge.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.