Indian-American #AbhijitBanerjee,Esther Duflo, Michael Kremer jointly won the 2019 #NobelEconomicsPrize

New Delhi: The 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.”

Abhijit Banerjee, awarded this year’s Prize in Economic Sciences, was born in 1961 in Mumbai, India.

He is the Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA . “There’s lots of dimensions of the work that become more pleasant when you do it with your partner.”

We spoke to Abhijit Banerjee about his work fighting poverty, and how it felt to receive the Prize in Economic Sciences alongside his wife, Esther Duflo.

2019 Economic Sciences Laureate Esther Duflo was born in 1972 in Paris, France.

She is the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA .

This year’s Economic Sciences Laureate Michael Kremer was born in 1964. He is the Gates Professor of Developing Societies at Harvard University, Cambridge, USA.

The 2019 Economic Sciences Laureates’ research findings have dramatically improved our ability to fight poverty in practice. As a result of one of their studies, more than 5 million Indian children have benefitted from programmes of remedial tutoring in schools.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.