Indian Journalism is incomplete without IIMC students: Prof. Dwivedi

New Delhi: “The history of Indian Journalism is incomplete without the students of IIMC. With their talent, the students of Indian Institute of Mass Communication have brought laurels to the institute all over the world.” These views were expressed by Prof. Sanjay Dwivedi, Director General, Indian Institute of Mass Communication while addressing the alumni during the IIMC Alumni Meet in New Delhi.

Prof. Dwivedi said that when people tend to forget their roots when they reach high positions, but the connection of alumni of IIMC with the institution reminds us all to stay connected to our roots. According to the Director General of IIMC, the two prime pillars of any institution are its teacher and its student. It is not large buildings or campus, but students who make an institution.

The annual program ‘Connections 2022’ of IIMC’s Alumni Association ‘IIMCAA’ was attended by stalwarts of mass communication working in different institutions of the country. During the program, 14 alumni were honored with ‘IFFCO IIMCAA Awards 2022’ for their outstanding work in the field of Media. On this occasion, senior journalists of the country Madhuker Upadhyay, Chitra Subramaniam Duella, Padma Shri embellished dancer Geeta Chandran, APCO Worldwide Managing Director Rahul Sharma and Samsung South West Asia Head of Corporate Communication Partha Ghosh were honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Saurabh Dwivedi, editor of ‘India Today Hindi’ and ‘The Lallantop’, was conferred with the ‘Alumni of the Year’ award, while Amit, the Pradhan of Malakpur village in Uttar Pradesh, was the recipient of the Public Service Award. Other recipients include independent journalist Srishti Jaiswal for agricultural reporting, Reuters special correspondent Krishna N Das for print media, ABP News correspondent Ajatika Singh for TV journalism award, Etikala Bhavani for Indian language journalism (print media), Jyotismita Nayak for Indian language journalism (Television), Kaushal Lakhotia as the Producer of the Year, Vipin Dhyani for Advertising and Muni Shankar Pandey for his outstanding work in the field of Public Relations.

On this occasion, Karnataka Chapter was awarded ‘Connecting Chapter of the Year’ and the batch of 1994-95 was adjudged as the ‘Connecting Group of the Year’. Shyam Meera Singh and Abhinav Pandey were adjudged ‘Connecting Alumni of the Year’. Apart from this, students of Gold Jubilee Alumni batch of 1971-72 and Silver Jubilee Alumni batch of 1996-97 were also felicitated.

In the event, Kalyan Ranjan, President of ‘IIMCAA’, General Secretary Sadhna Arya, Principal Organiser Rajendra Kataria, Principal Secretary, Transport Department, Karnataka, Brajesh Kumar Singh, Group Editor of Integration and Convergence Network 18 & National Meet Convenor, State Meet Coordinator & State Information Commissioner Assam Samudra Gupta Kashyap, IIMCAA Award Convenor Sambit Mohanty, Award Coordinator Simrat Gulati, Medical Fund Chairman Nitin Pradhan, Scholarship Chairman & TV Today Group News Director Supriya Prasad and alumni from different parts of the country attended the meet. The programme was moderated by Ritesh Verma, Editor (New Initiative), Hindustan.

Comments are closed.