International Conference on Next Generation Computing Technologies concludes

Dehradun: The three day 2nd IEEE International Conference on Next Generation Computing Technologies (NGCT-2016) organized under the aegis of ‘Centre for Information Technology’ in UPES and has been co-sponsored by “Department of Science & Technology, Government of India”, “Defence Research & Development Organization, Government of India” , “RCPL” and Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, USA concluded in Bidholi Campus of UPES.
In his key note address Dr Michael Coyle, CEO of Avatar Med Vision US, North Carolina, USA shared the recent developments through which contemporary computer technologies have made some major interventions in the Digital Health space towards the benefit of mankind. Some of the interventions demonstrated by him through audio visual aid included “Nano-Retina”, “DNA Nanobots” & “Artificial Pancreas”. Dr P Shekhar, Chairman & MD of Micro Technologies in his talk unleashed the recent developments of next generation computing technologies in the field of secured governance aimed at national E-Governance.
Some of the other key speakers included  Dr E G Rajan, President of Pentagram Research Centre, Hyderabad and Scientific Advisor at Helios & Matheson Analytics, USA  who enlightened the participants by sharing the role of next generation computing technologies in the domain of Defence Technologies for Home Land security while Dr Piyush Maheshwari, Professor & Head of Engineering at Amity University, Dubai shared his insight on the role of next generation computing Technologies in smart city applications.
Also presenting their views were Dr Ram Muthy Garimella from IIT-Hyderabad who in his talk on ‘Fog Computing & Future Internet” gave an in depth insight on stem use of local servers a service provider to the main cloud system. Mr Tanmoy Chakravarty, Vice President & Global Head – Government Industry Solutions Unit (ISU) at New Delhi in his address presented his views on Governance Transformation through next generation computing Technologies.
Over 150 technical presentations which were shortlisted from a total 437 submissions from reputed international and national institutes and organizations as well as were presented during the span of 3 days. The presentations were made on indulging themes like High Performance Computing, Data Science, Computer Networks, Security and Privacy, Image Processing, Artificial Intelligence. During the conference, Dr. Sudha Arora (GBPUAT, Pantnagar), Dr. M. J. Nigam (IIT Roorkee), Dr. S. D. Samantray(GBPUAT, Pantnagar), Dr. M. P. Thapliyal (HNB Garhwal University), Dr. Deepak Garg (Bennett University), Dr. Parmanand (Galgotias University), Dr. Karamjit Bhatia (Gurukul Kangri University), Dr. V. K. Sharma (Gurukul Kangri University), Dr. Ashish Negi (G. B. Pant Engg. College), Dr. D. R. Gangodkar and Dr. Sandip Vijay (ICFAI University) were invited as Technical Session Chairs for the evaluation of technical Presentations.
A Candid & illustrative exhibition of models “NGCT EXPO” was also organized which promulgated the savvy of the students in the field. Certain highlights of the exhibition were the Environmental Data Monitoring Drone, Panel Arch- an imaging based starch engine & a Sensor based Soap Lifter.
A workshop on “Linux Shell Scripting” was also organized as a part of conference in which about 35 scholars participated and learn about the Linux scripting language. This workshop was supported by RCPL India Pvt. Ltd., Noida.
The valedictory ceremony of the conference was concluded on the eve of 16th October in the presence of Chief Guest, Prof Durgesh Pant, Director, Uttarakhand Space Application Centre, Dehradun. Dr Pant presented his uplifting views on Genesis of Computer & Impact of Advancement of Technology in today’s arena.
Dr. Manish Prateek while presenting the vote of thanks made a special mention of Dr Amit Aggarwal, the architect of NGCT-2016 and also committed of organizing a more advanced NGCT 2017 with his NGCT team. Also present at the valedictory ceremony were Dr Amit Agarwal, Dr J. C. Patni, Dr Kingshuk, Dr Inder Singh, Mr Ravi Tomar, Mr Hitesh Kumar, Mr Ankit Vishnoi, along with their colleagues from CIT in UPES and students from senior batches.