Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Pipersand wins Youth Parliament Competition

New Delhi: The Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Planning, Sh. V.Nanayanasamy today gave away the prizes to the winners of the 13th National Youth Parliament Competition 2009-10 for Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas. Sh. Nanayanasamy congratulated the students of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Pipersand for putting up a brilliant performance of an exemplary Parliament. The Minister said that strict following of the rules and parliamentary traditions can in fact result in very meaningful debates on the floor of the House. The Minister said that the Government is according highest priority to Right to Education. He noted that the Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas are doing very creditable service in reaching out to a vast section of students.

The Nehru running Shield and Trophy for standing first at National level was given to Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Pipersand, P.O. Sarojini Nagar, Distt. Lucknow. The trophies for standing 1st in regions were awarded to Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Wynad, Kerala, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Phek Nagaland, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya Aurangabad, Bihar, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Atru, Rajasthan, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Bolangir, Orissa, Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh and Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya, Chandrapur, Maharashtra.

From a humble beginning in 1966 when the first Competition was organised in 16 schools of the Delhi Administration, by the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, the Youth Parliament Scheme now covers 1200 schools in NCT of Delhi, 1,200 Kendriya Vidyalayas, 600 Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas and 300 Universities/Colleges throughout the country.