LPU became Water Polo Champion at All India Inter-University Aquatics Championship (Men) 2019-20


Jalandhar: Department of Sports at LPU conducted All India Inter University Aquatic Championship (Men) at Shanti Devi Mittal Indoor Sports Complex of the university, where, 600+ swimmers from 140+ Universities of All Indian Zones competed at Olympic Size Swimming Pool. During this championship, LPU became Water Polo Champion; University of Kerala remained at 2nd position; whereas, University of Mumbai at 3rd position. In the Swimming category University of Delhi declared first with 90 points; Panjab University Chandigarh second with 33 points; whereas, Jain University Bangalore third with 21 points. LPU Chancellor Mr Ashok Mittal and Pro Chancellor Mrs Rashmi Mittal honoured the winners and winning teams.

Some of the events were Freestyle, Butterfly, Breaststroke, Backstroke, and Individual Medley for 50, 100, 200, 400, 4X100 Meters and for more distances. Competitions for water-polo were also arranged. The opening day of the championship was graced by Olympian & Arjuna Awardee Shakti Singh and Arjuna Awardee Mr Dalal Singh Chauhan. Some of the participating top Universities of the country were University of Mumbai, Delhi University, Gujarat Technical University, Kerala University, Pune University Mahatama Gandhi University Kottayam, Shivaji University Kolhapur, Jain University Bangalore, Panjab University, M D University Rohtak, University of Calcutta, Maharaja Ganga Singh University Bikaner, Banaras Hindu University and many more. This time, there were many eminent student-swimmers also participating at the championship. Now, Women championship will be held at LPU from 6th November onwards.