M.P. Cup Polo Championship (Sir Pratap Singh Cup) 2021 organised by Ministry of Cultureas part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, concludes successfully

New Delhi: In a bid to celebrate and commemorate 75 years of Independence and our glorious cultural history through Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, the Ministry of Cultureorganized the final match of the M.P. CUP POLO CHAMPIONSHIP – SIR PRATAP SINGH CUP 2021. Minister of State for Culture and External Affairs, Smt. Meenakashi Lekhi launched the final 14 GOAL match at the iconic Jaipur Polo Grounds on November 14, 2021 by throwing the first ball.The event was organized under the auspices of Indian Polo Association and supported by Just in Time Sports Foundation. Sir Pratap Singh Cup is one of India’s most historic and premier tournaments, which was instituted in 1921. It completed exact 100 years with the completion of this event.

The final match of the Sir Pratap Singh Cup 2021 was witnessed by senior Army Personnel and Ambassadors of around 40 countries including the European Union Ambassador.

The match was played between the teams Sona Polo and VimalArion Achievers.Vimal Arion Achievers won the match by 11-8. Mr Juan Cruz Losada won the man of the match award for his exceptional performance.

It was a splendid match with three goals occurring within first few minutes of the game.

The match was followed by Trick riding display by 61 Cavalry that stunned the audience with their performance. Since Polo originated in Manipur in the 1800s, the event was made colourfulby the cultural performances of Folk Dancers of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya and Nagaland. The folk dance teams were led by Mr. L. Wangchu, MsSangeetaRabha, MsBabetPassah and MsTumchiKotha respectively. The whole cultural event was coordinated by North Central ZoneCultural Centre, Prayagraj, U.P.

The event saw a number of polo enthusiasts and eminent guests from the capital in attendance.


Comments are closed.