Minister of Textile, Smt. Smriti Irani, Felicitates Extraordinary Women Achievers at NewsX Women of Steel Awards

New Delhi, India: To commemorate the power of women hood, iTV Network, India’s leading news & infotainment network organized the NewsX Women of Steel Summit and Awards on Thursday, 18th October at Hotel Taj palace, New Delhi.

NewsX Women of Steel Awards were aimed to recognize the contribution of emerging women leaders which came from diverse backgrounds and professions and put the spotlight on the accomplishments of these fearless women.

Speaking on this event, Kartikeya Sharma, Founder and Promoter, iTV Network, said “At a time when women in our country have made great strides and have found a voice in creating a gender neutral and women empowered world, through the NewsX Women of Steel awards, we take this as an opportunity to honor, appreciate and recognize the zeal and dynamism of those iron ladies of our country who have not only excelled in their fields but have also acted fearlessly to change the world.”

On this occasion, Hon’ble Minister of Textile, Government of India, Smt. Smriti Irani felicitated some extraordinary women achievers with the NewsX Women of Steel Awards. The award selection was carefully screened and selected by an esteemed panel comprising members of the editorial board at iTV Network.

During the summit, some of the various topics that were discussed by the panelists, “Beyond #Me Too” led by Diana Penty, Actor & Model; Rohini Iyer, Founder, Raindrop Media, Talish Ray Lawyer & Founder, Girls Gotta Know India, Sonam Pall, Entrepreneur & Co-Founder, S&S Trunk Show, Sejal Kumar, Actor & Style Influencer. “The Super Sportsman”, led by Rani Rampal, Indian Women’s Hockey Captain and Deepa Malik, first Indian Paralympic silver medalist, Shweta Chaudhary, Asian Games Gold Medalist- Shooting; “The Women Influencers” led by Bahaar Rohatgi, Lawyer and Artist; Sherry Shroff, Lifestyle Influencer; Komal Pandey, Fashion Influencer, Sejal Kumar, Actor & Style Influencer; “Beauty with a purpose” led by Diana Penty, Actor & Model; “Popular Culture & Sexism” led by Chitrangada Singh, Actor & Model; “New Age Relationships & Gender Equality” led by Fatima Sana Shaikh, Actor; Komal Pandey, Social Influencer; Sonam Pall, Women Entrepreneur. “Empowerment Through Entertainment” led by Fatima Sana Shaikh, Actor; “Politics & The Bhartiya Nari” led by Jaya Jaitly, Politician & Author; Swati Maliwal, DCW Chief and Sharmishtha Mukherjee, Congress Spokesperson.

Some of the awardees this year in various categories includes- Woman of Steel Award (Entertainment) presented to Chitrangada Singh, Actor & Model; Entertainment Youth Icon presented to Fatima Sana Shaikh, Actor & Model; Powerhouse Performer Of The Year presented to Diana Penty, Actor & Model; Inspirational Woman of the Year presented to Deepa Malik; Woman Of Steel Award (Sports) presented to Rani Rampal; Sports Super Woman of the Year presented to Shweta Chaudary; Excellence in Nutrition & Diet Control presented to Shikha. A. Sharma, Fat to Slim; Exemplary Work in Spices Industry presented to Chef Neeta Mehta; Youth Influencer Of the Year presented to Sejal Kumar; Art Influencer of the Year presented to Bahaar Rohatgi; Fashion Influencer of the Year presented to Komal Pandey; Lifestyle Influencer of the Year presented to Sherry Shroff; Pioneering Role in Gender Sensitivisation presented to Girls Gotta Know India; Excellence In Global Reputation Management presented to Rohini Iyer and Woman Fashion Entrepreneur of the Year presented to Sonam Pall.

The summit and awards were attended by policymakers, celebrities, women entrepreneurs, NGOs and esteemed members of the civil society, who recognized the need to acknowledge the power of today’s women.