National Science Day: Online lecture series organized


Aligarh: On the occasion of National Science Day – 2021, Department of Physics organized an online lecture series during February 15 – 27, 2021 on Google meet virtual platform. The eminent speakers from IITs, TIFR, IISER, UGC-DAE CSR, VECC and NISER delivered lectures which were attended by faculty members and students of the department and also from other departments of the University.

The inaugural lecture was delivered on 15th Feb by Prof V M Datar from TIFR Mumbai on the topic “Nobel prizes in nuclear sciences”. Prof Datar discussed Nobel prizes awarded in Nuclear Physics and allied areas in Nuclear Chemistry and Particle Physics. Dr Ram Janay Choudhary from UGC-DAE CSR, Indore delivered the lecture on “Thin film growth of functional magnetic oxides and their electronic structure studies using Indus synchrotron radiation source” on 17th Feb. Lecture by Prof Neeraj Khare from IIT, Delhi was on the topic “Nano functional materials for societal applications” on 19thFeb.

Prof Subhas Chattopdhyay from VECC, Kolkata talked on “Mini-bang in the laboratory” on 21st Feb. Prof Bedangadas Mohanty from NISER, Bhuvneshwar spoke on the topic “Little bang and Femto-Nova in Laboratory” on 22nd Feb. Prof Tariq Aziz from TIFR, Mumbai talked on “Particle physics at the technology frontier” on 23rdFeb. Prof Bhas Bapat from IISER, Pune delivered a lecture on “A new way of looking at ion-atom and molecule collisions” on 24thFeb. Prof BN Jagatap from IIT Bombay spoke on “Future of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI): Impacts on education, skills and work” on 25th Feb.

The concluding lecture of the series was delivered by Prof S K Gupta from TIFR, Mumbai on the topic “Probing the power and fury of thunderstorms studied by GRAPES-3 muon telescope at Ooty” on 27thFeb.

Prof Mohammad Sajjad Athar introduced all the speakers. Dr Jai Prakash convened and moderated the online lecture series. Prof BP Singh, Chairperson, Department of Physics, Prof Shakeel Ahmad, Prof Shahid Husain, Dr M Wasi Khan and Dr Haris Kunari extended their support for organizing the lecture series.



Comments are closed.