National Voters’ Day observed at AMU


ALIGARH : Pledge taking and voter awareness programmes were held at the various departments and offices of the Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) in both online and offline modes, marking the National Voters’ Day.

The Vice Chancellor, Professor Tariq Mansoor administered the pledge in a programme held in the virtual mode.

Reading out the pledge, Prof Mansoor resolved, “We, the citizens of India, having abiding faith in democracy, hereby pledge to uphold the democratic traditions of our country and the dignity of free, fair and peaceful elections, and to vote in every election fearlessly and without being influenced by considerations of religion, race, caste, community, language or any other inducement.”

AMU Registrar, Mr Abdul Hamid (IPS); Finance Officer, Professor Mohd Mohsin; OSD Development, Prof Afifullah Khan and others were present on this occasion.

Prof Wasim Ahmad (Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences) administered the voters’ pledge to the teaching and the non-teaching staff at the Faculty of Life Sciences.

He urged the staff members to uphold the democratic traditions and the dignity of fair, free and peaceful elections by exercising their right to vote.

At the Department of Linguistics, Prof M J Warsi, Chairman, administered the pledge and urged the people to actively participate in the voting procedure and strengthen the democratic framework of the country. Faculty members and non-teaching staff attended the ceremony.

Faculty members and non-teaching staff took the voters’ pledge at the Department of Urdu under the leadership of the Chairman, Professor Mohd Ali Jauhar. The participants pledged to uphold the democratic traditions of the country and to vote in every election fearlessly and regardless of the considerations of religion, race, caste, community and language.

At the Department of Physics, Chairperson, Professor B P Singh discussed the importance of National Voters’ Day in strengthening the democratic values. He elaborated the theme of this year’s Voters’ Day, “Making election inclusive, accessible and participative” and urged the students and faculty members to participate in elections in a free and fair manner. He said special emphasis is being given to encourage new and young voters.

Dr Jai Prakash convened and conducted the programme.

At the Department of Economics, Prof S M Jawed Akhtar (Chairman) read the voters’ pledge to the faculty members and the non-teaching staff.

He said that voting is a right and a responsibility and the citizens should fulfill their duties by casting votes to participate in the democratic process.

Administering the oath at the Centre of Continuing and Adult Education and Extension (CCAEE), Prof Mohammad Gulrez (Director) encouraged the faculty members and the non-teaching staff to vote fearlessly without any influences.

Voting is not only our right but also a duty, he said.

Prof Aysha Munira Rasheed (Deputy Director) with Dr Shamim Akhtar and other staff members joined the pledge taking ceremony.

Dr Shariq Aqeel, CMO, University Health Service conducted the pledge taking ceremony and urged the doctors and paramedical staff to spread awareness in their localities regarding significance of casting votes and participating in the election related procedures.

Professor Hammad Usmani (Director, Medical Attendance Scheme, AMU), along with other medical consultants and nursing and paramedical staff, took part in the pledge ceremony.

Prof Anees Ahmad (Chairman, Department of Community Medicine) led the Voters’ Day observations at the Urban Health Training Centre with a pledge ceremony in which Dr Suboohi Afzal (CMO In-charge) delivered a talk on ‘Making elections Inclusive, Accessible and Participative’.

Faculty members, resident doctors and the non-teaching staff attended the programme.

The occasion was marked at the Nursing College with the voters’ pledge administered by Prof Farah Azmi (Principal).

Dr Vijay Lakshmi Verma, J N Sounza and the other staff members attended the programme.

Prof Naima Khatoon, Principal, Women’s College administered the voters’ pledge.

She urged the faculty members and non-teaching staff to contribute to the nation-building process with their votes.

At the residential hostel, Aftab Hall, Dr Salman Khalil (Provost) persuaded the hall staff members to promote informed participation in the election process.

Reading the pledge, he pointed out that the Voters’ Day should be marked by maximizing voter enrollment and making the young voters aware about their rights and duties.

Dr S M Mustafa, Principal, Saiyid Hamid Senior Secondary School administered the voters’ pledge to the teachers and office staff and urged them to use their voting rights fearlessly and without any prejudice.

At AMU City Girls’ High School Mr Md Javed Akhtar, Vice-Principal conducted pledge for free, fair and peaceful elections, while Mr Zia-ul-Haque laid stress on voting rights and duties and Mrs Farzana Nazeer, Cultural Coordinator explained the aims of Election Commission of India.

The teaching and non-teaching staff of the Ahmadi School for the Visually Challenged observed the National Voters’ Day and took the pledge to use voting rights fearlessly and without any bias on any ground.

A patriotic song was presented online by Mr Sirajuddin Sheikh (Incharge, Cultural Events) on the eve of the Voters’ Day. The programme was conducted by Dr Bushra Abbasi (Incharge, Literary Events – English).

At the ABK High School (Girls), Dr Saba Hasan, Head mistress-cum-Vice Principal presided over the online pledge ceremony. She said India is second largest democracy in the world and it is imperative on us to uphold the democratic values and traditions to keep the country free and on the path of progress.

Mrs Amna Malik, Principal, AMU Girls’ School conducted voters’ pledge in a virtual programme which was attended by the teachers and office staff.

Student volunteers and office staff of National Service Scheme (NSS) observed the occasion with the pledge ceremony and a lecture on the importance of the Voters’ Day by Dr Arshad Husain (Programme Coordinator, NSS).

Dr Mohd Shakir, Dr Juhi Gupta, Dr Mujahid Ali Khan and other programme officers also delivered speeches.

The occasion was also observed at the Public Relations Office of the university.


Comments are closed.