Tiana has had a stellar two years of netball at a national level, in the under 21 New Zealand squad and as a Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse player. 

Presented each year in partnership with Victoria University of Wellington Students’ Association (VUWSA), the Blue Awards are the highest sporting accolade the University can give to students who have brought credit to the institution through their sporting achievements or contribution to sport. The awards also recognise the rich contribution that tertiary sport makes to campus life.

Thirty-six awards were presented to the University’s top athletes, sports clubs, and administrators at today’s informal ceremony at the Club House, home to clubs on campus. In a year of huge challenges in sport due to COVID-19, the University is proud to support student athletes and while the event differed from the usual formal ceremony, their achievements are no less remarkable.

Tiana was selected for the Netball New Zealand U21 Squad for 2020 and was a squad member for Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse Team, playing in their grand final victory over The Good Oil Tactix in the ANZ Premiership this year. In 2019, Tiana was selected for the Netball New Zealand Silver Ferns Development Squad and the Netball New Zealand A Team. Proud of both her Māori and Cook Islands heritage, Tiana is active in her church and community and uses her influence to speak and share her passion for Cook Islands Māori.

Māori Sportsperson of the Year Adam Clark was selected for New Zealand Universities Under 23 rugby team to play at the World Universities tournament in Tokyo, Japan in September 2019. He played for the Premier Old Boys-University rugby club and is now a member of the Senior Wellington Māori men’s team. Adam is studying for a Master of Architecture and is proud of his whakapapa and being a role model for other aspiring Māori youth to study and competitive sport.

Sportsman of the Year Jordon Cohen represented New Zealand in the Under 21 men’s hockey team at the Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia in October last year and is looking to the Junior World Cup in 2021. He was selected for the Capital men’s NHL hockey team to compete in the 2019 National Hockey League and will play for the Central Falcons in the Domestic Pro League tournament later this year in a trial for the Olympic team. Jordan is studying a Bachelor of Commerce.

Sports Administrator of the Year Tommy Boyd is passionate about athletics. Club captain of the Victoria University of Wellington Athletics Club (VUWAC) since 2019, he is also a member of the Wellington Cross Country and Road Race Committee. Tommy has grown club numbers during a challenging year, while also focusing on participation in the sport. He has developed partnerships in the wider community to strengthen club ties and supported University events. Tommy is studying a Master of Arts majoring in history.

Victoria University Netball Club (Team Vic) has had an historic year, with its top side Vic Uni 1 placing in the top 4 teams of Premier 1 for the first time. Vic Uni 6 also had an outstanding season, finishing first in Premier Reserve Two. In addition to developing its performance, the team has worked hard to maintain stability and build connections in a year with disruptions to play and social events, and has encouraged members to build their experience on the committee and get involved in campus life.

The 2020 Te Herenga Waka — Victoria University of Wellington Premier Blue Awards:

Sportsperson of the Year, Pasifika Sportsperson of the Year, and Sportswoman of the Year —Tiana Metuarau

Maori Sportsperson of the Year—Adam Clark

Sportsman of the Year—Jordan Cohen

Sports Administrator of the Year—Tommy Boyd (Victoria University of Wellington Athletics Club)

Sports Club of the Year—Victoria University Netball Club (Team Vic Netball)

Blue Awards:


Sean Beresford

Michael Plim


Adam Clark

Caleb Delany

Aidan Morgan


Jordan Cohen

Estelle Macadre

Amy Rossiter-Stead


Colleen Faleafaga

Paris Lokotui

Grace McLean

Tiana Metuarau

Bianca Nagaiya

Ofa Vatikani


Baxter Fenwick

Mountain Biking

Sammie Maxwell

Swimming & Surf Lifesaving

Bronagh Ryan

Spring Kayak Racing

Doreen Kemp

Ultimate Frisbee

Olivia Judd


Nicole Regnaud


Michael Sole


Amy Spittal

Blue Award for Administration                              

Christopher Sole — Victoria University of Wellington Tennis Club

Lawrence Henderson — Victoria University of Wellington Rowing Club

Tommy Boyd — Victoria University of Wellington Athletics Club

Sports Club of the Year Finalists                            

Victoria University Korfball Club

Victoria University Netball Club (Team Vic Netball)

Victoria University of Wellington Athletics Club

Victoria University of Wellington Tennis Club