New appointment to Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington’s Council

Former Cabinet Minister Hon Maryan Street has been appointed to the Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington Council.

Ms Street has been appointed by Minister Chris Hipkins to a four-year term which began on 8 September 2021. She fills the vacancy created when Dame Therese Walsh left the Council earlier this year.

Ms Street served as a Labour List MP from 2005 until 2014. She was appointed to Cabinet in 2007 and held the ministerial portfolios of Housing and the Accident Compensation Corporation and was also Associate Minister of Tertiary Education and of Economic Development. Since 2015, Ms Street has been Employee Relations Manager at KiwiRail.

She is an alumna of the University, gaining a BA (Hons) in English Literature in 1977.

Prior to entering Parliament, Ms Street’s experience included nine years at the University of Auckland as Director of the Centre for Labour Studiesand she originally commenced her career as a secondary school teacher.She has also been involved in a large number of international and human rights engagements including as an official election observer in various countries.

Chancellor Neil Paviour-Smith said Ms Street’s knowledge and experience will be an asset to the University Council.

“I’m pleased to welcome Maryan to the University Council. She has extensive experience in the education sector, including as an academic, as well as experience of ministerial responsibilities in tertiary education. In addition, her work in employee relations in other large complex organisations will bring valuable perspectives.”

The Minister also reappointed current Council member John Allen to a second four-year term through to 31 December 2025.