New York University: 17 NYU Alumni and Faculty Win Emmy Awards

Sixteen alumni and one faculty member from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts and Steinhardt School School of Culture, Education, and Human Development took home Emmy Awards, including both Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which were announced September 11 and 12, and Primetime Emmy Awards, which were announced at the 73rd Annual Emmy Awards on Sunday, September 19 in a live ceremony at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles.

NYU alumni took home awards in a range of categories. Bill Wrubel (TSOA ’93) picked up an Emmy for his role as the Executive Producer on Apple TV+’s Ted Lasso. The show won the award for Outstanding Comedy Series and scored three additional wins in the comedic acting categories. A.J. Catoline (TSOA ’92) was also recognized for her work on the hit show, winning an Emmy for Oustanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Comedy Series.
Netflix’s The Queen’s Gambit triumphed in multiple categories, including Best Limited Series, with NYU alumni celebrating wins, including editor Michelle Tesoro (TSOA ’01), foley artist Rachel Chancel (TSOA ’92), and scoring mixer Lawrence Manchester (STEINHARDT ’97).
The Emmys are awarded annually by the Television Academy in recognition of excellence in primetime programming and individual achievement for the 2020 – 2021 television season.

The full list of NYU winners are as follows:

72nd Emmy® Awards Winners

Outstanding Comedy Series
Ted Lasso • Apple TV+ • Apple / Doozer Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television and Universal Television
Bill Wrubel (TSOA ’93), Executive Producer

Outstanding Variety Talk Series
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver • HBO • HBO in association with Sixteen String Jack Productions and Avalon Television The Late Show With Stephen Colbert • CBS • CBS Studios
Jeremy Tchaban (TSOA ’03), Supervising Producer

Outstanding Variety Special (Pre-Recorded)
Hamilton • Disney+ • Lin-Manuel Miranda and Nevis Productions LLC, Old 320 Sycamore, and RadicalMedia
Justin Wilkes (TSOA ’99)

Outstanding Narrator
Lincoln: Divided We Stand • The Dogs Of War • CNN • CNN Original Series, Glass Entertainment Group
Sterling K. Brown (TSOA ’01), Narrator

Exceptional Merit In Documentary Filmmaking
76 Days • Pluto • 76 Days LLC, MTV Documentary Films
Jean Tsien (TSOA ’83), Producer

Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series
Hacks • There Is No Line (Pilot) • HBO Max • Universal Television in association with Paulilu, First Thought Productions, Fremulon Productions, 3 Arts Entertainment
Jen Statsky (TSOA ’08), Written by

Outstanding Writing For A Variety Series
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver • HBO • HBO in association with Sixteen String Jack Productions and Avalon Television
Charlie Redd (TSOA ’14), Writer